Islamabad United eliminate Karachi Kings from PSL 2019

  • The winner will lock horns against Peshawar Zalmi in Eliminator 2 on Friday

KARACHI – Islamabad United eliminated Karachi Kings from the fourth edition of Pakistan Super League after they beat Imad Wasim-led team by four wickets in a high-octane clash on Thursday.

Karachi Kings set a target of 162 runs against Islamabad United in the first eliminator of HBL Pakistan Super League 2019 on Thursday, however, Islamabad chased it.

Kings won the toss and elected to bat first at the National Stadium Karachi for the do-or-die clash.

Batting first, Kings’ Babar Azam scored 42 off 32 balls while Colin Munro added 32 off 11 balls to take the score for Karachi to 161. The team lost 9 wickets in its innings.

On the other hand, Mohammad Musa took three wickets for 42 runs; Faheem Ashraf sent two players to the pavilion.

Islamabad chased the target with 3 balls in hand as Alex Hales scored 41 while Cameron Delport contributed 38.

Islamabad United will lock horns against Peshawar Zalmi in Eliminator 2 on Friday and whoever wins will be up against title favourites Quetta Gladiators in Sunday’s final.

Both the teams secured 10 points each but the United were one place above the Kings due to better net run rate before the eliminator.

Both had clashed with each other twice in the league rounds and Islamabad United defeated Karachi Kings on both occasions – first they won by seven wickets in Sharjah on February 23, and later won by five wickets in Dubai on February 27.

Karachi Kings were placed fourth in PSL-2016 and third in PSL-2017 and PSL-2018, while Islamabad United won the PSL trophy on two occasions – in 2016 and 2018 whereas they were placed fourth in 2017.

Their highest total in PSL – 2019 is 238/3, which they made against Lahore Qalandars at Karachi on March 9. This is also the highest by any team in the tournament.

The highest total by Karachi Kings is 190/5 (vs Quetta Gladiators at Karachi on March 10.

Colin Ingram is the highest run-getter for Karachi Kings and also the second highest in the tournament with 321 runs at an average of 35.66. He scored one hundred and one fifty.

For Islamabad United, the highest run-scorer is Luke Ronchi, who made 297 runs (ave 33.00) with three half-centuries. He is the third-highest scorer in the tournament.

Faheem Ashraf is the second highest wicket-taker this season behind Peshawar Zalmi’s Hasan Ali.

The 19-year-old left-arm spinner Umer Khan has claimed the most wickets for Karachi Kings. He took 13 wickets at an average of 17.38.


Islamabad United: Mohammad Sami (captain), Sahibzada Farhan, Luke Ronchi, Cameron Delport, Hussain Talat, Waqas Maqsood, Asif Ali, Faheem Ashraf, Rizwan Hussain, Chadwick Walton, Philip Salt, Shadab Khan, SR Patel, Ian Bell, Samit Patel, Gunman Raees, Muhammad Musa, Wayne Parnell

Karachi Kings: Imad Wasim (captain), Babar Azam, Liam Livingstone, Colin Ingram, Colin Munro, Sikandar Raza, Mohammad Rizwan, Sohail Khan, Mohammad Amir, Usman Shinwari, Umar Khan, Aamer Yamin Ben Dunk, Iftikhar Ahmed, Usama Mir, Ali Imran, Awais Zia