LAHORE – The three-match series against West Indies in the Caribbean will be the last for Test captain Misbah-ul-Haq, Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) Chairman Shaharyar Khan announced on Wednesday.

“Although no discussions have been held with Misbah regarding his retirement, a consensus has been reached that the test matches against West Indies will be his last series,” the PCB chairman told the media at Lahore’s Gaddafi Stadium.

In March, the PCB had announced that Misbah would lead the team during the WI Test series amid severe criticism from media following a whitewash in the Australia and New Zealand series.

Former ODI captain and opening batsman Azhar Ali is most likely to replace Misbah as Test captain.

Pakistan will play three Test matches in the West Indies tour from April 22-May 14.

Pakistan Squad: Misbah-ul-Haq (captain), Ahmed Shehzad, Azhar Ali, Shan Masood, Babar Azam, Younis Khan, Asad Shafiq, Usman Salahuddin, Sarfraz Ahmed, Yasir Shah, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Asghar, Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali, Mohammad Abbas.