LONDON – Team India defeated Pakistan by 95 runs in the high-voltage clash of the ICC Women`s World Cup in Derby on Sunday.

In the chase of mere 169 runs, Sana Mir-led team was wrapped on 74 runs. Ekta Bisht bagged the Player-of-the Match award for her 5 for 18 stellar bowling performance. Sana Mir was the highest scorer of Pakistan with 29 off 82 balls.

India batted first after winning the toss, but could not make a big total due to some accurate bowling and agile fielding from Pakistan women’s team.

The main destroyers were left-arm bowlers Nashra Sandhu and Sadia Yousuf, who captured four wickets for 26 runs and two for 30, respectively.

Main scorers for India were Punam Raut (47), Sushma Verma (33) and Deepti Sharma (28).

Pakistan are desperately looking for their first win of the Women’s World Cup after being lost to South Africa and hosts England in their earlier two games in the tournament, whereas India have so far won both their early matches in the tournament.

Match Time

The match started at 02:30pm (PST) and 2:00pm (IST).

Where to watch?

In Pakistan, PTV Sports and Ten Sports will be providing coverage. Moreover, Daily Pakistan will present exclusive live streaming throughout the tournament.

How can I follow? will keep you up to speed with all the latest news and highlights from the ground. In terms of social media, follow @dailypakistangl on Twitter for regular updates and highlights, like the Daily Pakistan page on Facebook.

Pakistan have never beaten India in nine attempts, but last year the Girls in Green claimed a historic two-run victory in the ICC World Twenty20, on Indian soil.


Pakistan: Sana Mir (captain), Asmavia Iqbal, Ayesha Zafar, Diana Baig, Ghulam Fatima, Iram Javed, Javeria Wadood, Kainat Imtiaz, Marina Iqbal, Bibi Nahida, Syeda Nain Fatima Abidi, Nashra Sundhu, Sadia Yousaf, Sidra Nawaz and Waheeda Akhter

India: Mithali Raj (captain), Ekta Bisht, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Jhulan Goswami, Mansi Joshi, Harmanpreet Kaur, Veda Krishnamurthy, Smriti Mandhana, Mona Meshram, Nuzhat Parween, Shikha Pandey, Punam Raut, Deepti Sharma, Sushma Verma and Poonam

Umpires: Gregory Brathwaite and Shaun George

Match referee: Richie Richardson