LEICESTER –  Pakistan handed victory to South Africa in their first league match of ICC Women’s World Cup hosted by England in Leicester on Sunday.

Pakistan put together 206 for 8 with Nahida Khan adding 79, highest ever by any Pakistani in Women’s World Cup.

SA chased the target with three fours in the second to last over. The South African side needed 16 off the last two overs.

Match Timings

The match started in Pakistan on 2:30pm while 11:30am in South Africa.

Where to Watch

PTV Sports and SuperSport 5 to broadcast match in Pakistan and South Africa respectively.

Team Pakistan’s Schedule

Fixtures: June 25 v South Africa, June 27 v England, July 2 v India, July 5 v Australia, July 8 v New Zealand, July 11 v West Indies, July 15 v Sri Lanka.

Pakistan will play round-robin stage matches against South Africa, England, India, Australia, New Zealand, West Indies and Sri Lanka through out the tournament.

Pakistan will face hosts England on June 27 and arch-rivals India on  July 2.

Prize Money

The International Cricket Council (ICC) announced that the winning team will bag a handy prize money of USD 660,000. The runner-up will win USD 330,000 and the losing semifinalists will bag USD 165,000 each. However, the teams which will leave the tournament after the group stage will get USD 30,000 each. Noticeably, each win in the group stage will coincide with a USD 20,000 in the bag for the winning team.

Earlier, New Zealand defeated Sri Lanka by nine wickets in Bristol, while, India beat England by thirty five runs in Derby on Saturday.

Pakistan Women Team

Nahida Khan, Ayesha Zafar, Javeria Khan, Bismah Maroof, Nain Abidi, Asmavia Iqbal, Kainat Imtiaz, Sana Mir*, Sidra Nawaz†, Nashra Sandhu, Sadia Yousuf, Ghulam Fatima, Diana Baig, Marina Iqbal, Waheeda Akhtar

South Africa Women Team
L Wolvaardt, L Lee, T Chetty†, M du Preez, CL Tryon, D van Niekerk*, M Kapp, S Luus, S Ismail, M Daniels, A Khaka, R Ntozakhe, A Steyn, N de Klerk, M Klaas