NAGPUR (Staff Report) – India collapsed on just 79 runs against New Zealand in the inaugural match of Super-ten round of Wrorld T20, at Vidrabha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur.

Chasing 127, Indian openers could not give its team a good start as Rohit Sharma (5) ans Shikhar Dhawan (1) left the crease followed by Raina (1) and Yuvraj Singh (4).

Virat Kohli (21) battled Kiwi spin attack a little, but edged Sodhi’s very first ball to wicket Kepper Ronchi.

New Zealand  have won the toss and elected to bat first against India in the inaugural match of T20.

India has rested out Rahane, Harbhajan Singh and Negi.

Host India is set to face off favourite New Zealand in the opening match of Super 10 round of ICC World T20 2016 on Tuesday (today) at Vidarbha Cricket Association Stadium, Nagpur.

The match will start at 7:30pm (Indian Standard Time), 2:00pm (GMT) and 7:00pm (Pakistan Standard Time). 

Daily Pakistan Global Live Scorecard: 

India Squad:

MS Dhoni (c), Ravichandran Ashwin, Jasprit Bumrah, Shikhar Dhawan, Harbhajan Singh, Ravindra Jadeja, Virat Kohli, Mohammed Shami, Pawan Negi, Ashish Nehra, Hardik Pandya, Ajinkya Rahane, Suresh Raina, Rohit Sharma, Yuvraj Singh

New Zealand Squad:

Kane Williamson (c), Corey Anderson, Trent Boult, Grant Elliott, Martin Guptill, Mitchell McClenaghan, Nathan McCullum, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, Henry Nicholls, Luke Ronchi, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor

The Super 10 round comprises of 18 games, where two groups of fives teams each will fight each other to qualify for semifinals. Top two teams from both groups will make it to semifinals. The round will conclude on March 28.

New Delhi and Mumbai will host the semi-finals on 30 and 31 March, respectively, while Eden Gardens in Kolkata will be the venue of the 3 April finals. The women’s semi-finals and final will be followed by the men’s knock-out matches. There is a reserve day for the finals.

Earlier Bangladesh and Afghanistan qualified for the Super 10 round, remaining top teams of two groups in the qualifying round.

Pakistan at WT20:

Pakistan will play one of Bangladesh and Oman on March 16 in the first of its Super 10 match. On March 19, Green Shirts will face off arch rival India at Kolkata’s Eden Garden stadium. It will play against New Zealand and Australia on March 22 and March 25 respectively.

Prize for WT20 Winners:

The men’s event will carry a total prize money of $5.6million, which is an 86 per cent increase from the 2014 tournament, while the total prize money for the women’s event is $400,000, which is a 122 per cent increase from the Bangladesh event.

Points Table Group 1:

Team                    Played          Won      Lost    Tied      N/R      Points
Sri Lanka                   0                    0            0          0              0            0
England                      0                    0            0          0              0            0
South Africa             0                    0            0          0              0            0
West Indies              0                    0             0          0              0            0
Afghanistan              0                    0            0           0              0            0

Points Table Group 2:

Team                    Played          Won      Lost    Tied      N/R      Points
Pakistan                      0                    0            0          0            0            0
India                             0                    0            0          0            0            0
Australia                    0                     0            0          0            0            0
New Zealand            0                     0            0          0            0            0
Bangladesh               0                     0            0          0            0            0

World T20 Schedule and Venues:

T20 (2)