KOLKATA (Staff Report) – Pakistan thrashed Bangladesh by 55-run as it strong bowling attack successfully defended the imposing target of 202 during their opening World T20 game against Bangladesh in Kolkata on Wednesday.

Shahid Afridi’s 27-2 and Muhammad Amir’s 28-2 in four overs each help Pakistan thrash Bangladesh by 55 runs.

Earlier batting first after winning the toss, Pakistan skipper Shahid Afridi’s blistering 19-ball 49 fired Pakistan to 201/5 against a hapless Bangladesh attack.

“Boom Boom” Afridi, whose batting form had fallen away in recent months, rose to the occasion after promoting himself to number four in the order.

The skipper smacked four boundaries and four sixes to help Pakistan register their second highest score in T20 internationals. Their highest total is 203 against the same opposition in 2009.

Opting to bat after winning the toss, Pakistani openers Ahmed Shehzad (52) and Mohammad Hafeez (64) hit entertaining fifties to stitch a 95-run second wicket partnership and lay a solid foundation for others to build on.

The duo combined the right dose of caution and aggression to blunt the Bangladesh bowling attack, forcing the Tigers’ skipper Mashrafe Mortaza to call on six different bowlers.

Shehzad, who was recalled into after missing the recent Asia Cup, reached his fifth T20 half-century in 35 deliveries.

Hafeez was not far behind as the former skipper, who posted his ninth T20 fifty, struck seven boundaries and two sixes in his 42-ball stay.

The only bright spot for Bangladesh was a moment of brilliance in the field when Soumya Sarkar took a breathtaking catch on the boundary rope to bring an end to Hafeez’s innings.

Other than that it was an all Pakistan show, banishing much of the gloom surrounding the side after their recent run of bad form and their delayed departure to India in a row over security

Pakistan Squad:

Shahid Afridi (c), Mohammed Hafeez, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Sarfraz Ahmed, Babr Azam, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khalid Lateef, Anwar Ali, Mohammad Irfan, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Nawaz, Ahmad Shehzad, Mohammad Sami

Bangladesh Squad:

Mashrafe Mortaza (c), Shakib Al Hasan, Abu Hider, Al-Amin Hossain, Arafat Sunny, Mahmudullah, Mohammad Mithun, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mustafizur Rahman, Nasir Hossain, Nurul Hasan, Sabbir Rahman, Soumya Sarkar, Tamim Iqbal, Taskin Ahmed

The Super 10 round comprises of 18 games, where two groups of fives teams each will fight each other to qualify for semifinals. Top two teams from both groups will make it to semifinals. The round will conclude on March 28.

New Delhi and Mumbai will host the semi-finals on 30 and 31 March, respectively, while Eden Gardens in Kolkata will be the venue of the 3 April finals. The women’s semi-finals and final will be followed by the men’s knock-out matches. There is a reserve day for the finals.

Earlier Bangladesh and Afghanistan qualified for the Super 10 round, remaining top teams of two groups in the qualifying round.

Pakistan at WT20:

Pakistan will play Bangladesh on March 16 in the first of its Super 10 match. On March 19, Green Shirts will face off arch rival India at Kolkata’s Eden Garden stadium. It will play against New Zealand and Australia on March 22 and March 25 respectively.

Prize for WT20 Winners:

The men’s event will carry a total prize money of $5.6million, which is an 86 per cent increase from the 2014 tournament, while the total prize money for the women’s event is $400,000, which is a 122 per cent increase from the Bangladesh event.

Points Table Group 1:

Team                    Played          Won      Lost    Tied      N/R      Points
Sri Lanka                   0                    0            0          0              0            0
England                      0                    0            0          0              0            0
South Africa             0                    0            0          0              0            0
West Indies              0                    0             0          0              0            0
Afghanistan              0                    0            0           0              0            0

Points Table Group 2:

Team                    Played          Won      Lost    Tied      N/R      Points
Pakistan                     1                1                   0            0            0
India                             1                    0              1          0            0            0
Australia                    0                     0            0          0            0            0
New Zealand             1                     1             0          0            0            2
Bangladesh               0                     0            0          0            0            0

World T20 Schedule and Venues:

T20 (2)