WhatsApp unveils much awaited ‘delete for everyone’ feature

  • A user can only delete messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending
Technology

WhatsApp has unveiled a long-awaited feature, “Delete for Everyone”, allowing users deleted a specific message sent to either a group or an individual chat.

The latest feature is now available to its users after months-long strugle as the tech giant was working on it for months.

With the use of the latest feature, every kind of message, including texts, videos, pictures, contact cards, GIFs, files, quoted messages, locations, voice etc.

There are two options in the feature as users can delete the message for themselves or for everyone.

Delete Messages for Everyone

According to Whatsapp release, “Deleting messages for everyone allows you to delete specific messages you have sent to either a group or an individual chat. This is particularly useful if you sent a message to the wrong chat or if the message you sent contains a mistake”.

Messages you successfully delete for everyone will be replaced with “This message was deleted” in your recipients’ chats (*). Similarly, if you see “This message was deleted” in a chat, it means that the sender deleted their message for everyone.

A user can only delete messages for everyone for up to seven minutes after sending. Once seven minutes have passed, there is no way to delete messages for everyone.

The new feature will be available on latest versions of WhatsApp for Android, iPhone or Windows Phone, as it will not be supported in the old version.

Delete Messages for Yourself

Deleting messages for yourself allows users to delete the copy of messages sent or received via the users’ phone. This will no effect the recipients’ chats.