NEW DELHI – India’s Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) Sunil Arora announced the general election scheduled in New Delhi on Sunday.

According to him, the elections will be held in seven phases, and the first phase of polling will be held on April 11.

The second phase of polling will be held on April 18, the third phase on April 23, the fourth phase on April 29, the fifth phase on May 6, the sixth phase on May 12, and the seventh and last phase of polling would take place on May 19, said the CEC.

All the votes will be counted on May 23, he added.

The CEC further stated that a total of 900 million voters will be exercising their right to vote across the country, as compared to 816 million voters in the last general election held in 2014.