10th Hockey Asia Cup 2017: Pakistan face India in Dhaka on Sunday

12:57 PM | 14 Oct, 2017
10th Hockey Asia Cup 2017: Pakistan face India in Dhaka on Sunday
DHAKA - Pakistan will take on arch-rivals India in 10th Hero Asia Hockey Cup at Maulana Bhashani National Hockey Stadium on Sunday.

The Green Shirts thrashed hosts Bangladesh 7-0 on Thursday and played out an entertaining 2-2 draw with Japan in their Pool A-encounter on Friday.

On the other hand, India also beat Japan 5-1 and Bangladesh by 7-0 in the tournament.

Pakistan vs India, Head-to-head in Asia Cup

Pakistan won the very first encounter in 1982 when they registered a thumping 4-0 win over India. In 1985, Pakistan and India clashed again in the final and it were Pakistan who came out on top with a 3-2 victory. In 1989, they met once again. This time also, Pakistan showed why they were a dominant force on the hockey field when They clinched a 2-0 victory.

The Indian team have also won the Asia Cup twice and are gunning for their 3rd one. Being the highest ranked Asian team, the Men in Blue are surely one of the favourites to win. India won back-to-back Asia Cups in 2003 and 2007. Pakistan have won the Asia Cup thrice, so they are also considered one of the favourites.

Match Timings

The Hero Hockey Asia Cup 2017 live broadcast of the day match will start at 2:30pm PST.

Hero Hockey Asia Cup 2017 Live Telecast TV Channels/Live Streaming

Pakistan: PTV; Live streaming: PTV Sports Live

India: TV: Star Sports 2/HD; Live streaming: Hotstar

Malaysia: TV: Astro Arena/HD; Live streaming: Astro Go

Japan: TV: TV Tokyo

Pakistan Team:

Mazhar Abbas and Amjad Ali (Goalkeepers), Muhammad Irfan (C), Atif Mushtaq, Mubashar Ali, Ammad Shakeel Butt, Abu Bakar Mahmood, Tasawwar Abbas, Rashid Mahmood, Rizwan Jr, Arslan Qadir, Azfar Yaqoob, Umar Bhutta, Rizwan Sr (Vice Captain), Ali Shan, Muhammad Atiq, Waqas Akbar and Ajaz Ahmad. The standbys comprise Junaid Kamal, Ali Hassan Faraz, Irfan Jr, Shan Irshad, Saleem Nazim, Qamar Bukhari, Khizar Akhtar, Shajeeh Ahmed and Hassan Anwar.