ISLAMABAD – Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) suffered a major blow on Thursday as Awami National Party (ANP) and Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid (PML-Q) have refused to support Imran Khan for replacing leader of the opposition in the National Assembly Syed Khursheed Ali Shah.

Earlier, PTI and MQM-P on Tuesday agreed to change Shah as leader of the opposition in the National Assembly.

Khursheed Shah, the senior PPP leader, is still enjoying the support of 63 members. Over eight members of the PTI and MQM are dissenting from their respective parties, sources close to the development told Daily Pakistan.

PPP has 47 members in NA while four members of JI are also supporting PPP. Similarly, Balochistan National Party (BNP), All Pakistan Muslim League (APML), Qaumi Watan Party (QWP) and three members of FATA are also with senior PPP leader, the source added.

PTI and MQM-P have expressed dissatisfaction with the veteran politician and agreed to consult other opposition parties in a bid to replace Khursheed Shah, who also serves as chairman of the NA Public Accounts Committee.