10,000 voters unidentifiable in NA-122: NADRA report

07:36 PM | 4 May, 2015
10,000 voters unidentifiable in NA-122: NADRA report
LAHORE (Staff Report) - National Database and Registration Authority has found around ten thousand voters to be unidentifiable in NA-122 during the process of thumb verification on the order of the election tribunal.

These unidentifiable voters have no record with NADRA, claim reliable sources, adding these ballots are expected to be declared as bogus in the final report to be submitted to the tribunal.

The thumb verification process was carried out at Lahore’s Forensic Laboratory and the findings will be submitted to the tribunal on Tuesday by Director General Amir Ali Hussain.

The election tribunal is due to conduct the next hearing on May 6.

National Assembly Speaker Ayaz Sadiq was declared as winner from NA-122 against PTI chief Imran Khan who had blamed the former for manipulating the election results.

Earlier an Election Tribunal ordered the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) to conduct a re-election in NA-125 after reaching a decision on rigging in last general elections from the constituency.

The verdict was reserved by the tribunal on April 30 when the lawyers had formally completed the arguments in the case.

Federal Minister for Railways Khawaja Saad Rafique was declared winner from this constituency during 2013 general elections, while PTI’s candidate Hamid Khan had challenged the election result.

The tribunal has also ordered to hold re-election in PP-155, which falls under the same constituency.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has decided to challenge the decision of the election tribunal which ordered re-election in NA-125 and PP-155 in the Supreme Court of Pakistan, said media reports.

National Database and Registration Authority (NADRA) was ordered to verify the votes in seven polling stations out of the total 265 polling stations previously.

In 2013’s general elections PMLN candidate Khawaja Saad Rafiq had bagged 123094 votes who was followed by the PTI candidate PTI Hamid Khan with 83190 votes.

PMLN’s Mian Naseer Ahmad was elected from PP-155 where PTI’s Hafiz Farhat had challenged the result.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), which had blamed the winning party for manipulating the poll results immediately after the elections, has been time and again asking the government to verify the ballots in the four constituencies including NA-125.

PTI Chairman Imran Khan had led a long march to Islamabad in August 2014 to demand an inquiry into the allegations of rigging which was followed by a 126 days long sit-in of his followers.

Previously in April this year the ruling party, PMLN, and PTI agreed to constitute a judicial commission to investigate the allegations of rigging which started functioning in the mid of last month.