Asian Hockey Champions Trophy 2016: India defeat Pakistan 3:2 in Final

10:38 AM | 30 Oct, 2016
Asian Hockey Champions Trophy 2016: India defeat Pakistan 3:2 in Final

Pakistan: 2

India: 3

LAHORE/KUANTAN - Pakistan failed to retain the champions title after losing against arch rivals India in the Final match of the Fourth Asian Hockey Championship 2016 today (Sunday) in the Malaysian city of Kuantan.

The match started at 05:30 pm on Pakistan Standard-Time (PST), 05:00 pm on Indian Standard-Times (IST) while 8:00pm on Malaysian Time.

Hockey fans can watch the match on PTV Sports, Star Sports 4 and Star Sports HD4.

Click here for live streaming.

The defending champion Pakistan defeated Malaysia 3-2 on a penalty shootout after their semi final match was tied with the scoreline 1-1 at full time.

India beat Korea by 5-4 also in the shootout after both the teams were locked 2-2 at the end of regulation time.

India won the inaugural 2011 edition of the Champions Trophy, while Pakistan have been two-time champion.

It is presumed that Sunday’s final will be another epic battle between the two arch rivals if both teams succeed in their respective encounters in semi-finals.

The defending champion, Pakistan thrashed Korea 1-0, beat Japan 4-3 and outclassed China by 4-0.

Six teams from Pakistan, India, Malaysia, South Korea, China and Japan are taking part in the event.

Pakistan has won the champions trophy more than any other participating team. The green team defeated its traditional rival India by 5-4 in the final of 2012.

Pakistan squad:

Goalkeepers: Imran Butt and Amjad Ali.

Defenders: Aleem Bilal, Mohammad Irfan (captain), Ammad Shakeel Butt.

Midfielders: Rashid Mahmood, Tasawar Abbas, Nawaz Ashfaq, Fareed Ahmad, Toseeq Arshad, Mohammad Rizwan Junior.

Forwards: Mohammad Irfan junior, Umar Bhutta, Arslan Qadir, Ali Shan, Ejaz Ahmad, Mohammad Rizwan senior, Abdul Haseem Khan.