KP cabinet takes oath as PTI kicks off second stint

  • Atif Khan to serve as a senior minister

PESHAWAR – Members of the cabinet of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa government took the oath of their office on Wednesday.

Acting governor Mushtaq Ghani administered the oath to the ministers at a graceful but simple ceremony at the Governor’s House. Chief Minister Mehmood Khan also attended the event.

The KP cabinet comprises Atif Khan who has been named a senior minister and given the portfolio of tourism, with Shahram Tarakai serving as the local government minister; Taimur Saleem Jhagra has been made the finance minister.

Meanwhile, Syed Muhammad Ishtiaq will be the minister for forestry, with Haji Qalandar Khan Lodhi joining the cabinet as minister for food.

Shakeel Ahmed Khan will manage the revenue affairs, while Mohib Ullah Khan will take charge as the agriculture minister. Amjad Ali will serve as the minister for mineral development.

Moreover, Sultan Muhammad Khan has been appointed as the new law minister of KP, with Hisham Inamullah Khan serving as the health minister.

Abdul Kareem will be the advisor to CM on industries, Shah Muhammad Khan the special assistant to the CM on transport and Kamran Khan Bangash will serve as the IT minister. Meanwhile, Ziaullah Khan Bangash will be Adviser to KP chief minister.

One of the advisor’s Shah Mohammad did not take oath today.

The nominated governor of the province, Shah Farman, would take the oath of his office after the presidential elections, scheduled on September 4.

He won the elections for a provincial assembly seat, however, in a bid to not waste his vote, the PTI decided to delay the swearing-in ceremony as Farman has to resign from his seat to assume the governorship.