PTI's Arbab Amir makes triumph in KP's 'litmus test' NA-4 by-poll

05:42 PM | 26 Oct, 2017
PTI's Arbab Amir makes triumph in KP's 'litmus test' NA-4 by-poll
PESHAWAR - According to unofficial and unconfirmed reports, the Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) has won the by-election in Peshawar’s National Assembly constituency NA-4 by a wide margin on Thursday.

PTI’s Arbab Amir secured 45, 631 votes, while Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Nasir Khan Mosazai stood second with 24,790.

Awami National Pakistan candidate Khushdil Khan managed to get 24,830 votes to secure third place.

The election was held after the seat fell vacant due to the death of PTI estranged MNA, Gulzar Khan.

Meanwhile, PTI chief Imran Khan congratulated the party candidate.

As a whole 397,952 registered voters, including 235,127 men and 162,825 women will take part in the voting. The ECP has declared 182 polling stations the most sensitive and 82 sensitive due to the security situation.

Photo TV.

Today, a heavy contingent of Pakistan Army has been deployed at the polling stations to prevent any untoward situation, besides police officials are also deployed at the stations.

On the other hand, The ECP has authorized all presiding officers to exercise the powers of a first class magistrate in order to control any uncertain situation.

In order to facilitate the voters, the local administration has announced public holiday in the constituency, besides banning the use of mobile phones inside the polling stations.

Photo TV.

As per the directions of the Election Commission of Pakistan, the election campaign was ended Tuesday midnight by the political parties.

In the by-elections, six candidates of different political parties including, PTI, PML-N and eight independent are contesting the elections.

PTI’s Arbab Amir Ayub, PPP’s Asad Gulzary, ANP’s Khushdil Khan, Jamaat-e-Islami’s (JI) Wisal Farooq, Tehreek-e-Labaik’s Allama Shafiq Amini, and PML-N’s Nasir Khan Moosa Zai are in the spotlight.