PML-N candidate wins PP-196 by polls

06:26 PM | 21 May, 2015
PML-N candidate wins PP-196 by polls
MULTAN (Web Desk) –Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Rana Mahmud ul Hassan on Thursday won the PP-196 by poll, defeating rival candidate Rana Abdul Jabbar of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) with a margin of over 10,000 votes.

According to unofficial results collected from of total 133 polling stations, Hassan who bagged 28,324 votes, is followed by PTI's Rana Abdul Jabbar with 18,112 votes.

Pakistan People's Party (PPP) candidate Muhammad Hussain Arain remained the number three contestant who bagged 6,519 votes.

Total 14 candidates, nominated by four parties, were contesting the election, while 10 others were independent candidates.

The PP-196 seat was vacated by PML-N’s former provincial minister for prisons Chaudhry Abdul Waheed Arain after he was disqualified by an election tribunal for having two CNICs.

Officials said 133 polling stations were set up in the constituency, out of which 41 were ‘sensitive’.

According to ECP Multan officials, there are 176,315 registered voters in PP-196 including 96,121 male and 80,194 female voters.

Clashes between PML-N and PTI workers were also witnessed at various polling stations, while the polling continued till 5pm. Many other violations of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) code of conducts were also reported from the constituency.