PUNE (Staff Report) – Gujarat Lions defeated Rising Pune Supergiants by 3 wickets in the 25th match of Indian Premier League (IPL) 2016 at Maharashtra Cricket Association Stadium, Pune on Friday (today).

Suresh Raina won the toss and asked MS Dhoni and his side to bat first in Pune. Dhoni eleven set a target of 195/3.

In reply, Gujarat Lions got off to a blistering start as Brendon McCullum and Dwayne Smith put together 93 runs for the first wicket inside ten overs.

With a run required off the last ball, birthday boy James Faulkner kept his cool and guided his team to their seventh victory of the season.

Steve Smith bagged the maximum sixes award and Dwayne Smith bagged the man-of-the-match award.

Click Here For Live Streaming

Daily Pakistan Global Live Scorecard:

Rising Pune Supergiants Squad:

MS Dhoni (Captain), Ajinkya Rahane, Ravichandran Ashwin, Steven Smith, Faf du Plessis, Kevin Pietersen, Ishant Sharma, Irfan Pathan, Mitchell Marsh, RP Singh, Ishan Kishan, Ankit Sharma, Ishwar Pandey, M Ashwin, Peter Handscomb, Thisara Parera, Baba Aparajith, Ashok Dinda, Jaskaran Singh, Adam Zampa, Scott Boland, Deepak Chahar, Ankush Bains.

Gujarat Lions Squad:

Suresh Raina (Captain), Dwayne Bravo, James Faulkner, Aaron Finch, Brendon McCullum, Dwayne Smith, Dale Steyn, Pravin Tambe, Ishan Kishan, Ravindra Jadeja, Shadab Jakati, Dinesh Karthik, Shivil Kaushik, Dhawal Kulkarni, Praveen Kumar, Pradeep Sangwan, Jaydev Shah, Umang Sharma, Andrew Tye, Sarabjit Ladda, Akshdeep Nath, Amit Mishra, Paras Dogra, Eklavya Dwivedi.

IPL 2016: 

The world’s largest T20 league spread across 51 days, where as many as 60 games will be played. There will be 56 group level matches between eight participating teams. The first round will be followed by three playoffs. The final will be played on May 22 at Mumbai’s Wankhede Stadium.

All matches will be played at different cities Mumbai, Rajkot, Pune, Mohali Bangalore, Kolkata, Hyderabad and Raipur, each representing one participating team.

Points Table:

Team P W L T NR RR Pts
1 Rising Pune Supergiants 6 2 4 0 0 0.320 4
2 Kolkata Knight Riders 6 4 2 0 0 0.611 8
3 Gujarat Lions 6 5 1 0 0 0.037 10
4 Royal Challengers Bangalore 5 2 3 0 0 0.230 4
5 Sunrisers Hyderabad 6 3 3 0 0 -0.086 6
6 Kings XI Punjab 6 1 5 0 0 -1.174 2
7 Delhi Daredevils 5 3 2 0 0 0.244 6
8 Mumbai Indians 8 4 4 0 0 -0.104 8

Full Schedule, Venues List and Match Time*:

IPL- Schedule

*The match time is given according to Pakistan Standard Time.