PTI's Shahzad Waseem wins Senate polls on vacant seat

05:24 PM | 3 Oct, 2018
PTI's Shahzad Waseem wins Senate polls on vacant seat
LAHORE - The election on a vacant Senate seat from Punjab held today for which the polling started at 9:00am and ended at 4:00pm in the provincial assembly.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf's (PTI) Shahz Waseem won the Senate polls by getting 181 votes while his opponent Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz's (PML-N) Khawaja Hassan got 169 votes, according to unofficial results.

351 members of Punjab Assembly exercised their right to vote for either Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) candidate Shahzad Waseem and Khawaja Hassan of Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) to Senate.

whereas one vote was rejected in today's Senate election.

Punjab Assembly was declared polling station while provincial election commissioner acted as presiding officer. PML-N’s Tahir Khalil Sindhu cast the first vote in the assembly.

The seat was vacated by PTI s Chaudhry Muhammad Sarwar on assuming charge of the Governor Punjab.