Parliamentary committee formed to monitor CPEC project

05:58 PM | 8 Sep, 2015
Parliamentary committee formed to monitor CPEC project
ISLAMABAD (Staff Report) - A parliamentary committee has been formed to monitor the Chine-Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC) project in a bid to defuse reports suggesting alleged change in the CPEC’s route.

The committee comprises of as many as 22 members from ruling and opposition parties including 15 members of national assembly (MNAs) and 7 senators.

According to sources Abdul Qadir Baloch, Senator Talha Mahmood, Senator Mir Hasil Bazinju, Mahmood Khan Achakzai, Aftab Sherpao, Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui, Ameer Haider Hoti, Asad Umar, Ejaz Jakhrani and Shazia Mari are among the members of special monitory committee.

A notification will also be issued in this regard very soon.

Earlier on May 14 a meeting of the country’s top political leadership agreed to set up a special parliamentary committee for regular oversight of the China-Pakistan Economic Corridor (CPEC) project.