LG by-polls in Punjab, Sindh: PML-N, PPP strengthen their positions

10:11 AM | 17 Dec, 2015
LG by-polls in Punjab, Sindh: PML-N, PPP strengthen their positions
LAHORE/KARACHI (Staff Report) - Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) and Pakistan People's Party (PPP) once again emerged as leading parties after a day-long polling was held for local government by-elections in 101 union councils in Punjab and Sindh respectively.

According to unofficial and unconfirmed results PML-N won 9 seats while independent candidates remained second with 6 seats in Punjab. PTI and PML-Z got one seat each.

In Sindh PPP bagged 53 seats and independent candidates 6 seats while PML-F and MQM each got 3 seats.

The polling began at 7:30 AM and continued till 5:30 PM in 21 districts of Punjab and 15 districts of Sindh.

The Election Commission once again postponed local government elections in Sanghar and Badin districts scheduled for Thursday. The decision was taken on the request of the Sindh Government due to poor law and order situation in the area.

The districts of Punjab in which the re-poll took place included Lahore, Multan, Faisalabad, Gujranwala, Okara, Gujrat, Kasur, Nankana Sahib, Vihari, Bahawalnagar, Chiniot, Sheikhupura, Sargodha, Sahiwal, Khanewal, Attock, Sialkot, DG Khan, Rahim Yar Khan, Bhakkar and Narowal.

Fates of Chairmen and Vice Chairmen of 16 Union Councils of Punjab was also be decided in Thursday by-polls. The re-polling took place in Lahore Metropolitan Corporation’s Union Council (UC) 231, as many as 4 Union Councils of Faisalabad district council, 2 of Kasur, 1 of Okara, 1 each from Multan municipal and union councils, 2 of Sheikhupura, 1 of Khanewal, 1 of Gujranwala, and 1 UC of Bahawalpur municipal corporation.

The re-election took place in wards one each of Punjab’s 7 municipal committees which include Okara, Kot Radha Kishan, Lala Musa, Kot Chatha, Abdul Hakeem and Haroonabad municipal Committees.

In areas of Sindh where the re-election was held including Karachi East and West, Hyderabad, Sukkur, Ghotki, Khairpur, Jacobabad, Kashmor Kandh Kot, Qambar Shohda Kot, Shikarpur, Naushahro Feroze, Tandu Allah Yar, Tharparkar, Mirpur Khas, Thatha and Sajawal.

The voters have exercised their right to vote in 4 Town Committees of Sindh as well, which include Naushahro Feroze’s Town Committee Hilani and Mithani, Badin’s Town Committee Tilhar and Hyderabad’s Town Committee Hasri.