Four newly appointed ECP members take oath

11:33 PM | 27 Jul, 2016
Four newly appointed ECP members take oath
ISLAMABAD - Four newly appointed members of the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Wednesday took the oath of offices.

Chief Election Commissioner Justice (r) Sardar Muhammad Raza administered the oath to Justice (r) Altaf Ibrahim Qureshi from Punjab, Justice (r) Irshad Qaiser from Khyber Pakthunkhwa, Justice (r) Shakeel Ahmed Baloch from Balochistan and Abdul Ghaffar Soomro from Sindh.

President Mamnoon Hussain had earlier confirmed their appointments under Article 218(2)(b) of the Constitution.

The summary for appointments was forwarded by Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif after a parliamentary committee comprising twelve members of the government and opposition approved names of the new ECP members.