UPDATE: PTI's Arbab Asim elected as Peshawar Nazim

02:49 PM | 30 Aug, 2015
UPDATE: PTI's Arbab Asim elected as Peshawar Nazim
PESHAWAR (Staff Report) - Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) leader Arbab Asim has been elected unopposed as District Nazim of Peshawar on Sunday.

Earlier, PTI member Younis Zaheer withdrew his nominations ahead of the polls.

Elections of nazims and naib nazims are underway in district councils of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa to complete the local government elections in the province.

Muhammad Ali Shah of Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz (PML-N) becomes Swat Nazim while Abdul Jabbar Khan of Awami National Party (ANP) elected as Naib Nazim.

Meanwhile PTI's Liaqat Khan Khatak, Adil Islam and Aziz Ullah have been elected as Nazims in districts Nowshera, Tank, Haripur and Dera Ismail Khan where JUI-F's Mufti Ubaid Ullah was declared winner as Nazim in district Hangu.

Ahmad Shah Bacha was elected as District Nazim in Malakand on ticket of Pakistan People's Party (PPP) while Fasiullah of Jamaat-e-Islami emerged as Nazim in district Upper Dir.

more info to follow...