WASHINGTON – President-elect Donald Trump finally clinched the necessary  270 votes in the Electoral College on Monday leaving no hurdle in becoming the next US head in January.

The attempts both by his Republican party and Democrats finally ended after the Electoral College met in state capitals across the country electing the real estate magnate to head America for four years.

As per official countings, Trump received 304 electoral votes to Hillary Clinton’s 227.

While Democrat Hillary Clinton bagged a nearly 3 million-vote lead in the popular vote, Trump won the state-by-state electoral map, making him president-elect.

The results mean Trump who lost the popular vote by more than 2 percentage points to Clinton easily fended off the attempts to turn electors against him.

The Electoral College results will be officially certified on January 6 during a joint session of Congress.

When all the votes were counted in November, the President-elect won 306 electoral votes to Clinton’s 232. Widespread protests erupted in America after the unexpected landslide victory and campaigns were launched in full swing to mould electors vote against Trump.

‘This election represents a movement that millions of hard working men and women all across the country stood behind and made possible. With this historic step we can look forward to the bright future ahead. I will work hard to unite our country and be the president of all Americans. Together, we will make America great again,’ Trump said in a statement.

Vice President-elect Mike Pence also extended his congratulations to Trump after both were declared winners in official terms.

A mixed trend was observed for electors in different states of America. For instance, in Washington, instead of bolstering Hillary Clinton, three cast ballots for former Secretary of State Colin Powell, and one backed Faith Spotted Eagle, a Native American activist.

Former President Bill Clinton cast his ballot for his wife as an elector in the state of New York.

Ohio Secretary of State Jon Husted, whose state was won by Trump, tweeted a picture of the ballot for electors in his state.

Donald Trump will now take oath of his office on January 20 as the 45th president of United States of America.