New federal cabinet members take oath

08:30 AM | 4 Aug, 2017
New federal cabinet members take oath
ISLAMABAD - The members of the new federal cabinet of Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi on Friday took oath at Aiwan-e-Sadr in Islamabad.

President Mamnoom Hussain administered the oath, while Prime Minister Abbasi was also present on the occasion.

The new federal cabinet under incumbent Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi is consisting of 47 ministers and state ministers, including 28 ministers and 19 state ministers, local media reported.

Name Portfolio
Khawaja Asif Foreign Affairs
Ishaq Dar Finance
Ahsan Iqbal Interior
Khurram Dastgir Defence
Maryam Aurangzeb Information
Saad Rafique Railways
Saira Afzal Tarar Health
Mushahidullah Khan Climate change
Pervaiz Malik Commerce

Rana Tanveer Hussain Defence Production
Muhammad Baligh ur Rehman Federal Education and Professional Training
Akram Khan Durrani Housing and Works
Ghulam Murtaza Khan Jatoi Industries and Production
Zahid Hamid Law and Justice
Lt Gen (Retd) Salahuddin Tirmizi Narcotics Control
Sikandar Hayat Khan Bosan National Food Security and Research
Pir Syed Sadaruddin Shah Rashidi Overseas Pakistanis and Human Resource Development
Sheikh Aftab Ahmed Parliamentary Affairs

Hasil Khan Bizenjo Ports and Shipping
Molana Ameer Zaman Postal Services
Sardar Muhammad Yousaf Religious Affairs and Inter-faith harmony
Lt General (Retd.) Abdul Qadir Baloch States and Fronties Regions
Kamran Michael Stastics
Syed Javed Ali Shah Water Resources
Ministers of States Portfolio
Abid Sher Ali Power

Abdul Rehman Khan Kanju Overseas Pakistanis and Human Resouces Development
Anusha Rehman Ahmad Khan Information Technology and Telecommunications
Dr Darshan Inter Provincial Coordination
Ghalib Khan States and Fronties Regions

Jam Kamal Khan Petroleum
Chaudhry Jaffar Iqbal Ports and Shipping
Marrium Aurangzeb Information and Broadcasting
Muhammad Akram Ansari Commerce and Textile
Pir Muhammad Amin ul Hasnat Shah Religious Affairs and Interfaith Harmony
Sardar Muhammad Arshad Khan Leghari Industries and Production
Dr Tariq Fazal Chaudhry Capital Administration and Development Division

The other members, including Junaid Anwar, Jam Kamal, Abid Sher, Anusha Rehman, Dr Roshan, Usman Ibrahim, Abdul Rehman Kanju, Chaudhary Jaffar Iqbal, Ameenul Hasnat, Arshad Laghari, Mohsin Shahnawaz Ranjha, Rana Tanvir, Javed Ali Shah, Baligur Rehman, Hafiz Abdul Karim, Haji Akram Ansari, Dr Tari Fazal, Dosteen Khan Domki, Sardar Yousaf, Moulana Ameer Zaman, Kamran Michael, Abdul Qadir Baloch, Sikandar Bosan, Sheikh Aftab, Mumtaz tarrar, Hasil Bazenjo, Sadruddin Rashdi, Murtaza Jatoi, Salahuddi, Zahid Hamid, Barjees Tahir, Awais Laghari, Akram Durrani, Riaz Peerzada, Javed Ali Shah and Ayaz Shah Shirazi also took oath.Furthermore, a new ministry for power will be established with the combination of ministries of petroleum and electricity, which will be headed by the prime minister, who will also hold the control of planning ministry.Six new federal and 12 state ministers have been included in the cabinet. Daniyal Aziz, Talal Chaudhry, Arshad Leghari and Junaid Anwar Chaudhry are new faces in the cabinet.

On the other hand, Danyal Aziz did not participate in the ceremony due to reportedly some difference with the party.

Following the oath-taking, the first session of the cabinet will be chaired by Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi.


Abbasi selected his cabinet members after holding discussions with ousted prime minister Nawaz Sharif and PML-N leaders in Murree during the past days.

Sources said PML-N chief Nawaz Sharif had directed Prime Minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi and Punjab Chief Minister Shehbaz Sharif to include natives of South Punjab and the smaller provinces in the cabinet.

The previous cabinet was dissolved after the Supreme Court on July 28 disqualified Nawaz Sharif for concealing his job with Capital FZE.