Ch Pervaiz Elahi sworn in as Punjab Assembly Speaker

Haider Ali 03:41 PM | 16 Aug, 2018
Ch Pervaiz Elahi sworn in as Punjab Assembly Speaker
LAHORE - Pakistan Muslim League-Quaid chief, Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi was sworn in as the Speaker of the Punjab Assembly, after winning the elections for the slot.

Elahi, a joint candidate of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf and PML-Q, secured 201 votes against Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz's nominee Chaudhry Muhammad Iqbal Gujjar who clinched 147 votes.

As many as 349 lawmakers of the Punjab Assembly cast their votes through secret ballot and a decisive majority of them voted in favor of Pervaiz Elahi - who has served as the Chief Minister of Punjab.

Only a single vote got rejected in the process as announced by outgoing Speaker Rana Muhammad Iqbal.

Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz has a strength of 162 in the house, however, its candidate secured 15 votes less than the expected figure.

PML-N's Muhammad Iqbal Gujjar

Interestingly, Pakistan Peoples Party abstained from the voting process. The party has seven lawmakers in the house.

Former interior minister, Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan also did not turn up before the house and did not cast his vote. He is yet to take the oath of his office.

A commotion erupted during the crucial session of the Punjab Assembly during the polling process which continued when Rana Muhammad Iqbal was administering the oath to his successor.

The brawl between the members of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf and Pakistan Muslim league Nawaz erupted when a few of the lawmakers waved their ballot papers before casting the vote.

The outgoing Speaker, Rana Muhammad Iqbal kept disciplining the lawmakers and even left his seat for 15 minutes during the polling process.

Elahi was nominated as the candidate by Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf after both the parties joined hands at the federal level.

The lawmakers of the provincial house would be electing the Speaker through secret ballot and apparently, Elahi enjoys an upper hand in terms of numbers.

For the slot of deputy speaker, PTI has nominated Dost Mazari who will contest against PML-N's Malik Muhammad Waris Kallu.

Statistically, Pakistan Muslim league Nawaz was the strongest party in the province, however, due to the support of independent candidates, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf, which has currently 121 lawmakers, is poised to win the elections.

Haider Ali

The writer is a civil servant.


Today's currency exchange rates in Pakistan - Dollar, Euro, Pound, Riyal rates on June 2, 2023

KARACHI - Following are the foreign currency exchange rates for US Dollar, Saudi Riyal, UK Pound Sterling, U.A.E. Dirham, European Euro, and other foreign currencies in Pakistan open market on June 2, 2023 (Friday).

Source: Forex Association of Pakistan. (last update 09:00 AM)

Currency Symbol Buying Selling
US Dollar ‎USD 299 302
Euro EUR 321 325
UK Pound Sterling GBP 375.5 380
U.A.E Dirham AED 80 81
Saudi Riyal SAR 79 79
Australian Dollar AUD 198 200
Bahrain Dinar BHD 758.25 766.25
Canadian Dollar CAD 226 228
China Yuan CNY 40.26 40.66
Danish Krone DKK 41.04 41.44
Hong Kong Dollar HKD 36.39 36.74
Indian Rupee INR 3.45 3.56
Japanese Yen JPY 2.25 2.45
Kuwaiti Dinar KWD 927.17 936.17
Malaysian Ringgit MYR 61.94 62.54
New Zealand Dollar NZD 172.79 174.79
Norwegians Krone NOK 25.67 25.97
Omani Riyal OMR 740.96 748.96
Qatari Riyal ‎QAR 78.37 79.07
Singapore Dollar SGD 220 222
Swedish Korona SEK 26.36 26.66
Swiss Franc CHF 315.04 317.54
Thai Bhat THB 8.21 8.36

Today's gold rates in Pakistan – June 2, 2023

KARACHI – The price of a single tola of 24-karat gold in Pakistan is Rs 230,000 on Friday. The price of 10 grams of 24k gold was recorded at Rs197,190.   

Likewise, 10 grams of 22k gold were being traded for Rs180,756 while a single tola of 22-karat gold was being sold at Rs 210,832.

Note: The gold rate in Pakistan is fluctuating according to the international market so the price is never been fixed. The below rates are provided by local gold markets and Sarafa Markets of different cities.

City Gold Silver
Lahore PKR 230,000 PKR 2125
Karachi PKR 230,000 PKR 2125
Islamabad PKR 230,000 PKR 2125
Peshawar PKR 230,000 PKR 2125
Quetta PKR 230,000 PKR 2125
Sialkot PKR 230,000 PKR 2125
Attock PKR 230,000 PKR 2125
Gujranwala PKR 230,000 PKR 2125
Jehlum PKR 230,000 PKR 2125
Multan PKR 230,000 PKR 2125
Bahawalpur PKR 230,000 PKR 2125
Gujrat PKR 230,000 PKR 2125
Nawabshah PKR 230,000 PKR 2125
Chakwal PKR 230,000 PKR 2125
Hyderabad PKR 229,000 PKR 2125
Nowshehra PKR 229,000 PKR 2125
Sargodha PKR 229,000 PKR 2125
Faisalabad PKR 229,000 PKR 2125
Mirpur PKR 229,000 PKR 2125


Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Sign up for Newsletter