Imran Khan becomes the Prime Minister of Pakistan

04:16 PM | 17 Aug, 2018
Imran Khan becomes the Prime Minister of Pakistan
ISLAMABAD - Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf Chairman, Imran Khan has been elected as the 22nd Prime Minister of Pakistan after lawmakers of the Lower House of the Parliament voted in favor of him.

Imran Khan secured 176 votes in the elections for the top slot of the country against Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz President, Shehbaz Sharif who managed to clinch 96 votes, on Friday.

Speaker Asad Qaiser announced the official results, to the thunderous applause of the lawmakers from Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf.

The lawmakers gathered in two lobbies ahead of the polls and voted their favorite candidate to take over the reins of the country.

Speaker Asad Qaiser chaired the crucial session and instructed the legislators about the process amid a ruckus in the house.

Pakistan Peoples Party abstained from the process, however, its Chairman, Bilawal Bhutto Zardari turned up in the house.

Before the polling began, Shehbaz Sharif and Imran Khan – the contenders for the post of  Chief Executive – shook hands, much to the surprise of their fellows and political commentators.

Ruckus In the House

As soon as Imran Khan was declared successful in the elections for the Prime Minister, members from the opposition benches chanted slogans, demanding the restoration of the sanctity of vote.

'Vote ko Izzat do,' chanted the members of Pakistan League league Nawaz.

However, a teary-eyed Imran Khan kept rolling the rosary in his hand and flaunted a smile at his face, to the dismay of the members who gathered in front of the treasury benches.

The 22 Figure

The numeric digits 22 became central to the ebb and flow of Imran Khan's life as he struggled for 22 years to become the 22nd premier of the country.

Moreover, Pakistan had defeated England to clinch the 1992 World Cup under the captaincy of Imran Khan, by 22 runs.

Oath Taking Ceremony

Imran Khan will take the oath of his office as the Chief Executive of the country on Saturday for which all the preparations have been finalized.

The graceful ceremony would take place at the President House for which former Indian cricketer Nojvat Singh Sidhu has arrived in Pakistan.

Imran Khan - A Profile

The 65-year-old former cricketer is the founding chairman of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI). After captaining Pakistan to the country’s World Cup win in 1992, Khan retired from cricket.

On April 25, 1996, Khan formed his own political party, the PTI and took part in the 1997 elections losing NA-53 and NA-94. Khan won his first National Assembly seat from his hometown of Mianwali in 2002, resigning in 2007 to protest elections being held under Pervez Musharraf.

The party boycotted the 2008 polls, however, Imran Khan shot to fame with his historic October 2011 gathering at Minar e Pakistan, Lahore.

After the 2013 general election, the PTI emerged as the third largest party in the National Assembly and formed the government in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Following the 2018 elections, it emerged as the largest party in the centre and has already formed the government in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

The party has formed the government in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and is still to steer Punjab as well.

Congratulatory Messages Pour In

As soon as Imran Khan was declared the Prime Minister of the country, scores of Twitterati felicitated Khan and wished him best of luck.