MIRPUR (Staff Reporter) – India defeated Bangladesh by eight wickets in the final match of the Asia Cup T20 2016, played between Bangladesh and India here on Sunday at Sher-e-Bangla Stadium in Mirpur.

Indian captain MS Dhoni won the toss and decided to field first.

Bangladesh batted well in their 15 overs. They were able to post 120 runs on the board within the 20 overs with the loss of 5 wickets. Mahmudullah and Sabir Rehman scored 33 not out and 32 not out respectively. Ashwin, Nehra, Bumrah and Jadeja took a wicket each.

Rohit Sharma was dismissed for 1 run but Kohli and Dhawan clung to the crease and thrashed the Bengali bowlers all over the park. Dhawan was dismissed for 60. Kohli scored 41 and skipper MS Dhoni remained not out on 20 off just 6 balls as he finished the match with a huge six towards leg side with 7 balls to spare.


India: Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, Mahendra Singh Dhoni, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ashish Nehra, Jasprit Bumrah.

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Sabbir Rahman, Mushfiqur Rahim, Shakib Al Hasan, Mahmudullah, Nasir Hossain, Mashrafe Mortaza(c), Abu Hider, Al-Amin Hossain, Taskin Ahmed.