LAHORE – Holders Lahore Lions defeated Peshawar Deers by 1-0 in the final of the 2nd Women Hockey Super League 2018 at the National Hockey Stadium on Sunday.

Areeba Sarwar scored the decisive goal. Peshawar Deers earned a penalty corner but failed to equal the goal score.

Lahore got six penalty corners while Peshawar managed to get four during the final fixture. However, it ended 1-0 in favour of Lahore Lions when the hooter sounded for the last time.

Both the teams displayed attacking hockey and had their moments but Lahore, who had topped the league stage, were the deserving winners in the end.

Earlier, in the third position playoff, Karachi Dolphins riding on Tehmina Mustafa’s hat-trick defeated Quetta Panthers 6-3 in a high scoring match.


Karachi: Tehmina Mustafa: 3, Mahnoor, Iqra Iqbal & Zarah
Quetta: Iqra Hanif, Kulsoom Shahzadi & Momal

Imamuddin Shoqeen, chairman of Popular Group, presented the trophy to winning team, who have also given Rs 100,000 rupees to Lahore team as prize money. Runners-up Peshawar got Rs75,000.

The other three sides, Karachi Dolphins, Quetta Panthers and Islamabad Shaheen were given 50,000 each.

Individual Awards:

Player of Tournament: Shahrika Sarwar (Lahore)
Top Scorer: Tehmina Mustafa (Karachi)
Best Goal Keeper: Rushna Khan (Lahore’s captain)

All three were rewarded with Rs 10,000 each.