Pakistan to export electricity to Tajikistan under CASA-1000

08:06 PM | 5 Dec, 2018
Pakistan to export electricity to Tajikistan under CASA-1000
ISLAMABAD - Pakistan has decided to export electricity to Tajikistan in the winter season for which authorities in Power Division would soon engage their counterparts in Tajikistan.

According to a senior official of Power Division, Tajikistan would be provided energy through CASA-1000 project as in the power purchase agreement (PPA), a reverse flow of electricity clause was included.

"Once the CASA-1000 project is completed, Pakistan will import 1,000MW electricity from Tajikistan at 9 cents per unit in summer season for 5 months from May to September," said the official.

He added that now the relevant authorities have decided to export 1,000MW electricity to Tajikistan through the same project in winter as hydro generation in Tajikistan diminishes to zero during the said time frame.

The official told a leading daily 'The News' that Pakistan now generates electricity around 30,000MW and in winter the maximum demand in Pakistan hovers around 11,000-13,000MW and the country is in a position to export the surplus electricity up to 1,000MW to Tajikistan at affordable prices.

The official noted that if Pakistan enters the deal for export of 1,000MW power at the same price of 9 cents, then net financial impact will be zero on both the countries as the electricity of the same quantity from both sides will be swapped (traded) in different seasons.

Under the master agreement of CASA-1000 - a $1.16 billion project -  a transmission line would originate in the Kyrgyz Republic and Tajikistan and pass through Afghanistan to reach Pakistan.

The CASA-1000 is a  currently under construction. Groundbreaking for the project took place on May 12, 2016 in Tajikistan in a ceremony attended by the Kyrgyz, Tajik, and Pakistani Prime Ministers, and is expected to be completed by the end of 2018.

The CASA-1000 is a flagship project, and the first of its kind that will link the power grids of Pakistan, Afghanistan, Tajikistan and Kyrgyzstan.

The writer is a civil servant.


US Dollar, Euro, Dirham, Pound, Riyal Rate in Pakistan Today - Currency Rates 20 July 2024

Pakistani rupee rates against US Dollar and other currencies on July 20, 2024 (Saturday) in open market.

USD to PKR Rate Today

US dollar was being quoted at 279.15 for buying and 280.85 for selling. Euro's buying rate remains stable at 301.35 and selling rate is 303.25.

British Pound rate is 354.85 for buying, and 358.35 for selling. UAE Dirham AED was at 76.5 and Saudi Riyal lowered to 73.70.

Currency Rates Today

Source: Forex Association of Pakistan. (last update 09:00 AM)
Currency Symbol Buying Selling
US Dollar USD 279.15 280.85
Euro EUR 301.35 303.25
UK Pound Sterling GBP 354.85 358.35
U.A.E Dirham AED 76.5 77.25
Saudi Riyal SAR 73.7 74.42
Australian Dollar AUD 184.75 186.55
Bahrain Dinar BHD 741.15 749.15
Canadian Dollar CAD 203.5 205.5
China Yuan CNY 38.35 38.75
Danish Krone DKK 40.05 40.45
Hong Kong Dollar HKD 35.7 36.05
Indian Rupee INR 36.05 36.05
Japanese Yen JPY 1.91 1.99
Kuwaiti Dinar KWD 908.25 917.35
Malaysian Ringgit MYR 58.95 59.75
New Zealand Dollar NZD 169.24 171.24
Norwegians Krone NOK 26.04 26.34
Omani Riyal OMR 722.87 730.89
Qatari Riyal QAR 76.39 77.09
Singapore Dollar SGD 202 204
Swedish Korona SEK 26.4 26.7
Swiss Franc CHF 309.05 311.55
Thai Bhat THB 7.5 7.65


Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Sign up for Newsletter