Afridi-led Royals beat Sehwag XI by 6 wickets in ice cricket 2018

04:52 PM | 8 Feb, 2018
Afridi-led Royals beat Sehwag XI by 6 wickets in ice cricket 2018
ST MORITZ, SWITZERLAND - Shahid Afridi-led Royals defeated Virender Sehwag-led Diamonds in the first match of the two-match series of St Moritz Ice Cricket 2018 here on Wednesday.

Royals won the match by six wickets and chased the target in 15.2 overs. Owais Shah led the charge and scored 74 runs. Shah was declared man of the match.

Choose to bat first, Diamonds gave a target of 165 for the loss of nine wickets to Royals in stipulated 20 overs.

Skipper Sehwag smashed 62 from 31 deliveries and Andrew Symonds chipped in with 40 from 30 balls. Abdul Razzaq picked up 4/18 while Shoaib Akhtar took 2/32 for the Royals.

The next match will be played on Friday (tomorrow) at 4pm PST at the same venue.

Along with Afridi and Sehwag, the event also features glittering names such as Shoaib Akhtar, Abdul Razzaq, Mahela Jayawardene, Jacques Kallis, Zaheer Khan, Michael Hussey and others.

The vent is a joint initiative of Vijay Singh, CEO, VJ Sports and Akhilesh Bahuguna, Director, All Spheres. The maiden edition of the St. Moritz Ice Cricket 2018 was announced at a press conference in the presence of Sehwag and Kaif at New Delhi recently.

"With the approval from International Cricket Council (ICC), the St Moritz Ice Cricket has the potential to become a flagship property for the discerning patrons of the game all over the globe," Vijay Singh, CEO, VJ Sports said.

Full squads of both teams:

Shahid Afridi's Royals XI squad: Shahid Afridi (Pakistan), Shoaib Akhtar (Pakistan), Abdul Razzak (Pakistan), Jacques Kallis (South Africa), Graeme Smith (South Africa), Daniel Vettori (New Zealand), Nathan McCullum (New Zealand), Grant Elliott (New Zealand), Monty Panesar (England), Owais Shah (England), Matt Prior (England), Aidan Andrews (Switzerland)

Virender Sehwag's Diamonds XI squad: Virender Sehwag (India), Zaheer Khan (India), Mohammad Kaif (India), Ajit Agarkar (India), Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka), Lasith Malinga (Sri Lanka), Tillakaratne Dilshan (Sri Lanka), Michael Hussey (Australia), Andrew Symonds (Australia), Mithun Manhas (India), Ramesh Powar (India), Rohan Jain (Switzerland).