Quetta Gladiators beat Peshawar Zalmi to win PSL 2019

Sarfraz Ali 07:30 PM | 17 Mar, 2019
Quetta Gladiators beat Peshawar Zalmi to win PSL 2019
KARACHI – Quetta Gladiators lifted the PSL 2019 trophy after defeating Peshawar Zalmi in the final match of the fourth edition of Pakistan's premier T20 league at National Cricket Stadium on Sunday.

Earlier the Darren Sammy-led Yellow Storm set a 138-run target for the Team Quetta, captained by Sarfraz Ahmed.

Opening batsman Ahmed Shehzad smashed a half-century to help Gladiators win the title for the first time.

Imamul Haq scored 3, Kamran Akmal 21, Shoaib Maqsood 20, Umer Amin 38, Dareen Sammy 18 and Wahab Riaz 12 after sent in to bat first by Quetta.

Mohammad Hasnain took four wickets while Mohammad Nawaz and DJ Bravo three wickets apiece for team Quetta.

Before the match started, a closing ceremony was held, starting with a moment of silence to pay respects to the victims of the Christchurch shooting in New Zealand.

Thousands of the cricket fans throng to the stadium and all stands are chock-full of cricket-crazy people.

The match was screened across the country.

The closing ceremony started off with the performances by Abrarul Haq Aima Baig Fawad Hasan, followed by a high octane performance by Junoon who sang "Zamaane ke andaaz", "Khudi ko kar buland" and "Sayyonee".

A national favourite "Dil dil Pakistan" was also performed by the band.

Earlier, Sarfaraz led Quetta qualified final for two times while Darren Sammy’s Peshawar one time reached the mega event final and one-time won PSL in 2017.

In PSL 2019, Gladiators have won all three fixtures against Zalmi in the tournament so far.

A trophy exhibition ceremony was held at the stadium on Saturday. An interesting moment took place when both Quetta Gladiators captain Sarfaraz Ahmed and Peshawar Zalmi skipper Darren Sammy each gestured to the other to take the trophy, both hesitating to pick it up themselves.

This year, Quetta has an edge leaving the head-to-head in their favour with seven wins, five defeats and one no-result in 12 contests.

The Yellow Storm will be led by fans’ favourite Darren Sammy, whose inspirational leadership took Zalmi to claim the crown in the second edition.

However, Sammy’s fitness issues remain a concern. Zalmi will also have the services of Pakistan’s most successful Test captain Misbah-ul-Haq.

The batting line will also feature PSL's most successful batsman Kamran Akmal and all-rounder Kieron Pollard. The side has also picked Imam-ul Haq, who is in a good knick in limited overs cricket.

On the bowling front, the likes of Wahab Riaz, Hasan Ali and Chris Jordan compile a potential match-winning attack.

PSL 2019 closing ceremony: Fawad Khan, Aima Baig, Shuja Haider, Junoon, Young Desi and Abrar-ul-Haq to headline star-studded closing ceremony at Karachi

Fawad Khan, Aima Baig, Shuja Haider, Junoon, Young Desi and Abrar-ul-Haq will grace the closing ceremony.

The ceremony will be hosted by one of the most popular anchors and singers, Karachi’s very own Fakhar-e-Alam. Spain’s football star Carles Puyol will be a special guest at the closing ceremony. The Barcelona central defender earned 100 international caps and won the Euro 2008 and FIFA World Cup 2010.

The chief guest will be Chief Minister of Sindh, Syed Murad Ali Shah while Bilawal Bhutto Zardari and Sheikh Rasheed will watch the live actions from the stadium.

The PCB has also planned a spectacular fireworks display, which will start after the final ends.


Quetta Gladiators: Shane Watson, Ahmed Shehzad, Ahsan Ali, Rilee Rossouw, Umar Akmal, Sarfaraz Ahmed (capt, wk), Dwayne Bravo, Mohammad Nawaz, Sohail Tanvir, Mohammad Hasnain, Fawad Ahmed.

Peshawar Zalmi: Kamran Akmal (wk), Imam-ul-Haq, Kieron Pollard, Sohaib Maqsood, Darren Sammy (capt), Wahab Riaz, Chris Jordan, Hasan Ali, Tymal Mills, Umar Amin, Nabi Gul.

Sarfraz Ali
Sarfraz Ali

The author is working as Editor Digital Media for Daily Pakistan and can be reached @ItsSarfrazAli.


Today's currency exchange rates in Pakistan - Dollar, Euro, Pound, Riyal rates on March 21, 2023

KARACHI - Following are the foreign currency exchange rates for US Dollar, Saudi Riyal, UK Pound Sterling, U.A.E. Dirham, European Euro, and other foreign currencies in Pakistan open market on March 21, 2023 (Tuesday).

Source: Forex Association of Pakistan. (last update 09:00 AM)

Currency Symbol Buying Selling
US Dollar ‎USD 283.15 286.15
Euro EUR 298.5 301.5
UK Pound Sterling GBP 340.5 344
U.A.E Dirham AED 77.25 78
Saudi Riyal SAR 75.2 76
Australian Dollar AUD 187 189.4
Bahrain Dinar BHD 749.54 757.54
Canadian Dollar CAD 207.5 209.5
China Yuan CNY 40.91 41.31
Danish Krone DKK 40.38 40.78
Hong Kong Dollar HKD 35.9 36.25
Indian Rupee INR 3.41 3.52
Japanese Yen JPY 2.06 2.11
Kuwaiti Dinar KWD 916.88 925.88
Malaysian Ringgit MYR 62.85 63.45
New Zealand Dollar NZD 176.66 178.6
Norwegians Krone NOK 26.33 26.63
Omani Riyal OMR 732.14 740.14
Qatari Riyal ‎QAR 77.42 78.12
Singapore Dollar SGD 207.5 209.5
Swedish Korona SEK 26.5 26.8
Swiss Franc CHF 305.25 307.78
Thai Bhat THB 8.26 8.41

Today's gold rates in Pakistan – 21 March 2023

KARACHI - The price of a single tola of 24-karat gold in Pakistan is Rs 204,700 on Tuesday.The price of 10 grams of 24k gold was recorded at Rs175,500.  

Likewise, 10 grams of 22k gold were being traded for Rs163,624 while a single tola of 22-karat gold was being sold at Rs 190,849.  

Note: The gold rate in Pakistan is fluctuating according to the international market so the price is never been fixed. The below rates are provided by local gold markets and Sarafa Markets of different cities.

City Gold Silver
Lahore PKR 204,700 PKR 2,390
Karachi PKR 204,700 PKR 2,390
Islamabad PKR 204,700 PKR 2,390
Peshawar PKR 204,700 PKR 2,390
Quetta PKR 204,700 PKR 2,390
Sialkot PKR 204,700 PKR 2,390
Attock PKR 204,700 PKR 2,390
Gujranwala PKR 204,700 PKR 2,390
Jehlum PKR 204,700 PKR 2,390
Multan PKR 204,700 PKR 2,390
Bahawalpur PKR 204,700 PKR 2,390
Gujrat PKR 204,700 PKR 2,390
Nawabshah PKR 204,700 PKR 2,390
Chakwal PKR 204,700 PKR 2,390
Hyderabad PKR 204,700 PKR 2,390
Nowshehra PKR 204,700 PKR 2,390
Sargodha PKR 204,700 PKR 2,390
Faisalabad PKR 204,700 PKR 2,390
Mirpur PKR 204,700 PKR 2,390


Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Sign up for Newsletter