ISLAMABAD (Staff Report) – Chief Justice of Pakistan Justice Nasir-ul-Mulk on Wednesday formed a three member judicial commission to investigate the allegations of rigging in general election 2013.

The judicial commission will be headed by Chief Justice Nasir-ul-Mulk whereas the other two members are Justice Ejaz Afzal and Justice Amir Muslim Hani.

The first formal session of the commission will be held on Thursday at 1 PM in the building of Supreme Court in Islamabad.

The commission has been constituted after the president of Pakistan Mamnoon Hussain issued an order on April 3 addressing to the chief justice to form a three member judicial commission to look into the allegations of rigging in the general polls of 2013.

The commission will complete its assigned task within the next 45 days.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) protested for over an year while demanding this commission and also marched to Islamabad in August 2014 which turned out to be a 126-day long sit-in in the D-Chowk of federal capital city.

The government and PTI had formally signed an accord on April 2 to form the commission to investigate the electoral irregularities in general polls 2013.

According to the agreement, “The Commission shall enquire into and determine whether or not: (a) the 2013 general elections were organised and conducted impartially, honestly, fairly, justly and in accordance with law; and (b)the 2013 general elections were manipulated or influenced pursuant to a systematic effort or by design by anyone; and (c) the results of the 2013 general elections, on an overall basis, are a true and fair reflection of the mandate given by the electorate.”