LAHORE/KARACHI (Staff Report) – Polling process is underway in 345 constituencies of  local government elections in different districts of Punjab and Sindh where elections were postponed in earlier phases.

The polling started at 7:00am and will continue till 5:30pm without any formal interval.

Voting is being held for chairman in Sialkot’s UC-24 and two Councillors in UC-2, Bahawalpur’s UC-10 and different wards of districts Dera Ghazi Khan, Lodran, Mandi Bahaud Din, Faisalabad, Multan, Jhang, Toba Tek Singh and Sheikhupura.

The polling is being held on eight seats of UCs and eight DCs of Naushero Feroze, one UC and one DC of Hyderabad, four UCs and four DCs of Jamshoro, one UC of Dadu, four UCs and four DCs of Tando Allahyar, eight UCs and seven DCs of Mirpurkhas, seven UCs of Tharparkar, one UC of Umerkot and two UCs of Sujawal.

According to the Election Commission of Pakistan a total of 577 polling stations have been established for polling in 345 constituencies.

A total of 20 polling stations has been set up for election in one union committee of Karachi East.

One polling station has been set up for one UC and two District Councils of Ghotki, 19 for three UCs and two District Councils of Khairpur, 163 for three UCs, equal number of DCs and 43 wards of Shaheed Benazirabad.

It is also pertinent to be mentioned here that the elections are being held on those seats where election proceedings for Local Government Elections-2015 were postponed either due to death of candidate or pursuant to court orders.