Usman Buzdar elected as CM Punjab

  • Speaker Punjab Assembly Chaudhry Parvez Elahi announced Buzdar's victory

LAHORE –  The Punjab Assembly met today under the chair of  Punjab Assembly Speaker Chaudhry Parvez Elahi to elect the 20th chief minister of the province.

Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf’s (PTI) nominee Sardar Usman Buzdar was elected for the slot of Punjab chief minister with 186 votes in the house of 371, while Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’ (PML-N) candidate Hamza Shehbaz stood second with 159 votes for the province’s most coveted post.

Speaker Punjab Assembly Chaudhry Parvez Elahi announced Buzdar’s victory.

PTI dominates Punjab Assembly with 179 seats, whereas PML-N has 164 seats in the house.

Prime Minister Imran Khan earlier reposed his confidence in Buzdar for the post of CM Punjab via a video message. Explaining his decision, the PTI chief said that Buzdar hailed from the most impoverished area of Punjab and he had decided on him as the party’s candidate after due diligence.

Meanwhile, PTI and its allies, at a joint parliamentary meeting, endorsed the decision by Prime Minister Imran Khan to nominate Usman Buzdar as the chief minister Punjab.

VIDEO: PTI nominates Sardar Usman Buzdar for Punjab CM slot

Earlier, the Punjab Assembly Speaker, Chaudhry Pervaiz Elahi, accepted on Saturday the nomination papers of Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf nominated candidate Usman Buzdar and Pakistan Muslim League-N candidate Mian Hamza Shahbaz for the election of chief minister Punjab.