MELBOURNE (APP) – Sydney Thunder beat the Melbourne Stars by three wickets to win the Australian Big Bash League at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Sunday.

After being set 177 to win, the Thunder reached the target with three balls to spare.

Scoreboard from the final of the Australian Big Bash League between Melbourne Stars and Sydney Thunder at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Sunday:
Melbourne Stars
M. Stoinis c Russell b Watson 5
L. Wright b Watson 23
K. Pietersen c and b Green 74
P. Handscomb c Hussey b Green 9
D. Hussey b Kallis 21
R. Quiney c and b Russell 2
E. Gulbis c Green b McKay 16
A. Zampa run out 15
B. Hilfenhaus not out 0
D. Worrall run out 0
Extras (b4, w7) 11
Total (9 wickets; 20 overs) 176
Fall of wickets: 1-6 (Stoinis), 2-50 (Wright), 3-85 (Handscomb),
4-131 (Hussey), 5-139 (Pietersen), 6-144 (Quiney), 7-176 (Zampa), 8-176 (Gulbis), 9-176 (Worrall)
Did not bat: M. Beer
Bowling: Russell 4-0-30-1 (5w), Watson 3-0-17-2, McKay 4-0-40-1 (1w),
Kallis 3-0-24-1, Ahmed 2-0-24-0, 4-0-37-2 (1w)

Sydney Thunder
U. Khawaja c Worrall b Hussey 70
J. Kallis c Pietersen b Zampa 28
S. Watson c Hussey b Stoinis 6
M. Hussey b Zampa 18
A. Russell c Handscomb b Stoinis 10
B. Rohrer not out 13
A. Blizzard run out 16
C. Green c Hussey b Stoinis 8
C. Hartley not out 0
Extras (lb3, w8, nb1) 12
Total (7 wickets; 19.3 overs) 181
Fall of wickets: 1-86 (Kallis), 2-94 (Watson), 3-124 (Khawaja), 4-142
(Hussey), 5-146 (Russell), 6-163 (Blizzard), 7-172 (Green)
Did not bat: C. McKay, F. Ahmed
Bowling: Worrall 3.3-0-42-0 (2w), Hilfenhaus 2-0-21-0, Beer 3-0-25-0,
Gulbis 2-0-19-0 (1w), Zampa 4-0-32-2 (2w 1nb), Stoinis 4-0-30-3 (3w), Hussey
Result: Sydney Thunder won by three wickets
Toss: Sydney Thunder
Umpires: Simon Fry, Sam Nogajski
TV Umpire: Geoff Joshua
Referee: Bob Stratford