Women World T20 2016 Final: West Indies beat Australia by 8 wickets

04:53 PM | 3 Apr, 2016
Women World T20 2016 Final: West Indies beat Australia by 8 wickets

KOLKATA (Web Desk) - West Indies won the Women's World Twenty20 for the first time with an eight-wicket win over Australia in the Women World T20 championship on Sunday at Eden Gardens, Kolkata.

Australia, seeking a fourth successive world T20 title, chose to bat and made 148-5, with Elyse Villani making the first half century in a final.

But 18-year-old Windies opener Hayley Matthews hit a stunning 66 off 45 balls with three sixes, in a stand of 120.

The Windies won with three balls to spare and will hope for a T20 double in the men's final with England later.

Earlier, Australian captain Meg Lanning won the toss and elected to bat first.

Teams (from):

Australia: Meg Lanning (capt.), Kristen Beams, Alex Blackwell, Nicola Carey, Lauren Cheatle, Sarah Coyte, Rene Farrell, Holly Ferling, Alyssa Healy, Jess Jonassen, Beth Mooney, Erin Osborne, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Elyse Villani. Coach: Matthew Mott

West Indies: Stafanie Taylor (capt.), Merissa Aguilleira, Shemaine Campbelle, Shamilia Connell, Britney Cooper, Deandra Dottin, Afy Fletcher, Stacy-Ann King, Kyshona Knight, Kycia Knight, Hayley Matthews, Anisa Mohammed, Shaquana Quintyne, Shakera Selman, Tremayne Smartt. Coach: Vasbert Drakes.

The West Indies women team who are on a roll will be meeting the defending champions Australia in the final.

It will be a familiar territory for Australia, entering the finals for the fourth time in succession, while for West Indies women the stage is a new territory.

Australia has won the World T20 championships three times while England won the inaugural edition in 2009.

The only time both sides have met in the final of a global event was at the 2013 World Cup in Mumbai, where Australia was the runaway winners, by 114 runs.

Australia are unbeaten in T20Is against West Indies, with their head-to-head record an impressive 8-0.