List of public holidays for 2019 released

11:10 AM | 4 Feb, 2019
List of public holidays for 2019 released
ISLAMABAD — Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf led federal government has released a list of public holidays for the year 2019.

A total of 14 public holidays — Kashmir Day, Pakistan Day, Labour Day, Eidul Fitr, Eidul Azha, Independence Day, Ashura, Eid Miladun Nabi (PBUH) and Quaid-e-Azam Day — was announced according to the notification issued by the Interior Ministry.

“In case of Muslim festivals, the dates of holidays are based on anticipated dates and are subject to appearance of the moon for which a separate notification will be issued by the Ministry of Interior,” the notification added.

Additionally, three bank holidays – January 1, May 7 and July 1 – were on the list for this year. Banks will remain closed on the three days for the public, but not for employees.

The federal government also listed 23 optional holidays, including New Years, Basant, Shiv Ratri, Holi, Dulhandi, Shab-e-Mairaj, Good Friday, Easter, Nauroze, for government officials.

"Government officials desiring to avail optional holidays shall take prior permission of the head of the office concerned and no government servant, who is Muslim, shall be granted more than one optional holiday. Non-Muslims can be granted three optional holidays in Calendar Year 2018-19," the notification added.