ECP announces new schedule for by-elections on eight NA seats

10:54 AM | 15 Sep, 2022
ECP announces new schedule for by-elections on eight NA seats
Source: File Photo

ISLAMABAD – The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has announced a new schedule for holding by-elections on eight seats of National Assembly, which fell vacant after Speaker Raja Pervaiz Ashraf accepted the resignations of PTI MNAs.

The elections on the seats, which have been vacated by Shireen Mazari, Ali Muhammad Khan, Ijaz Shah, Farrukh Habib, Shandana Gulzar, Fazal Muhammad, Fakhar Zaman, Abdul Shakoor Shad, Jameel Ahmed, and Akram Cheema, will be held on October 16.

The by-polls will be held in NA-22 Mardan, NA-24 Charsadda, NA-31 Peshawar, NA-45 Kurram, NA-108 Faisalabad, NA-118 Nankana Sahib, NA-237 Malir, and NA-239 Karachi.

Previously, the by-elections were scheduled to be held during September but were delayed due to catastrophic situation caused by massive floods and abnormal monsoon rains.

The top election body also announced that local bodies polls in all seven districts of Karachi will be held on October 23.

“The dates for local bodies elections in nine districts of Hyderabad will be announced later,” the ECP statement read.

ECP held first phase of local body elections in Sindh in June and the second phase of polls in Karachi and Hyderabad divisions were to be held in July but they were delayed due to monsoon rains.

The polls were rescheduled for August 28 but ECP has announced to postpone elections in Hyderabad division due to prevailing weather situation.


Pakistani Rupee exchange rate to US Dollar, Euro, Pound, Dirham, and Riyal - 19 June 2024

Pakistani rupee rates against US Dollar and other currencies on June 19, 2024 (Wednesday) in open market.

USD to PKR Rate Today

US dollar was being quoted at 277.50 for buying and 280.65 for selling.

Euro's buying rate stands at 296 and selling rate is 299 while British Pound rate is 349.7 for buying, and 353.25 for selling.

UAE Dirham AED was at 74.80 and Saudi Riyal at 72.80.

Forex Rates 

Currency Symbol Buying Selling
US Dollar USD 277.50 280.65
Euro EUR 296.00 299.00
UK Pound Sterling GBP 349.70 353.25
U.A.E Dirham AED 74.80 75.60
Saudi Riyal SAR 72.80 73.55
Australian Dollar AUD 182.00 184.00
Bahrain Dinar BHD 741.18 749.18
Canadian Dollar CAD 204.00 206.00
China Yuan CNY 38.43 38.83
Danish Krone DKK 40.18 40.58
Hong Kong Dollar HKD 35.66 36.01
Indian Rupee INR 3.33 3.44
Japanese Yen JPY 1.90 1.98
Kuwaiti Dinar KWD 909.34 909.34
Malaysian Ringgit MYR 59.30 59.90
New Zealand Dollar NZD 170.79 172.79
Norwegians Krone NOK 25.97 26.27
Omani Riyal OMR 723.88 731.88
Qatari Riyal QAR 76.42 77.12
Singapore Dollar SGD 203.65 205.65
Swedish Korona SEK 26.40 26.70
Swiss Franc CHF 311.90 314.40
Thai Bhat THB 7.58 7.73


Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Sign up for Newsletter