ISLAMABAD (Staff Report) – Sardar Ayaz Sadiq, who won the NA-122 by-poll on October 11, is likely to get elected as National Assembly speaker once again on October 26, the day when he will take oath as MNA as well.

According to National Assembly rules, the reelection of speaker’s slot is mandatory once it goes vacant, no matter what. Any such reelection would be administered by deputy speaker of NA who is also the custodian of the lower house of parliament in speaker’s absence.

This would be the first session of National Assembly since Ayaz Sadiq was unseated by an election tribunal on August 22. He is expected to resume his old position without any interruption.

After the de-seating of Ayaz Sadiq, the government did not call the NA session in order to avoid any election for the slot of speaker until he was reelected as MNA.

Now the election of speaker is expected on October 26, when Ayaz Sadiq will take oath as an MNA.

Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) has approached all major political parties to insure the unopposed election of Sardar Ayaz Sadiq.

Previously in 2013, Ayaz Sadiq bagged 258 out of the 313 votes cast. The other candidates from Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), Shaheryar Afridi, managed to get only 31 votes while Muttahida Qaumi Movement’s (MQM) SA Iqbal Qadri could secured only 23 votes.