MULTAN (Staff Report) – Polling process is underway for by-election in NA-153 Multan-6, where strict security arrangements have been made to avoid any unusual situation.

The polling started at 8:00am and will continue till 5:00pm without any formal interval.

According to Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), there are over 379,000 registered voters in the constituency while 276 polling stations have been step up for voting.

Rana Muhammad Qasim Noon of PML-N, Muhammad Akram Kanhon of PPP and Ghulam Abbas Khakhi of PTI are main contestants in the election.

The seat fell vacant when the election of PML-N’s Dewan Ashiq Hussain Bukhari was declared null and void.

In the 2013 general elections, Bukhari had bagged 94, 298 votes while Noon had got 88,593. Saeed Khurshid of the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) could only bag 17,931 votes in 2013.

It is also pertinent to be mentioned here that Rana Muhammad Qasim Noon, who contesting the by-poll on PML-N ticket, participated in 2013 General Elections on PPP ticket. However, afterwards, he left PPP to join PTI and later on left it as well for PML-N.