FAISALABAD (Staff Report) – Punjab beat Sindh chasing required targte of 159 runs with a loss of 5 wickets on Friday in the 10th encounter of Pakistan Cup 2016 at Iqbal stadium, Faisalabad.

Related – Pakistan Cup 2016 Final Match: Punjab vs Khyber Pakhtunkhwa – Watch Live Score and Live Streaming

After winning the toss, Sindh captain Sarfraz Ahmed opted to bat first. But, the decision did not prove to be a wise one as first four wickets tumbled on just 35 runs.

Sarfraz Ahmed and Fawad Alam added 85 runs for the fifth wicket partnership, but after Sarfraz’s (40) unfortunate dismissal, Sindh kept losing wickets at regular intervals and were bundled out for 158 in 47th over.

In response, Punjab’s Ehsan Adil and Zulfiqar Babar both bowlers picked 3 wickets each.

Only 4 batsmen of Sindh s lineup were able to make it into the double figures. Sindh was bowled out for a total of 158 runs with 3.3 overs to spare. Yamin and Bhatti picked 2 wickets each for Punjab.

Click Here For Live Streaming

Live Scorecard:

Punjab Squad:

Salman Butt, Shan Masood, Asad Shafiq, Asif Ali, Akbar-ur-Rehman, Mohammad Rizwan, Saad Nasim, Amir Yameen, Shoaib Malik (Capt.), Ehsan Adil, Amad Butt, Adnan Ghaus, Zulfiqar Babar, Saif Badar.

Sindh Squad:

Khurram Manzoor, Sami Aslam, Mohammad Waqas, Shoaib Maqsood, Khalid Latif, Fawad Alam, Saad Ali, Sarfraz Ahmed (Capt.), Imad Wasim, Anwar Ali, Bilal Asif, Mohammad Amir, Sohail Khan, Ruman Raeez, Hassan Khan.

Points Table:

Team P W L T NR Pts
1 Islamabad 4 1 3 0 0 2
2 Punjab 3 1 2 0 0 2
3 Balochistan 4 2 2 0 0 4
4 Khyber Pakhtunkhwa 4 3 1 0 0 6
5 Sindh 3 2 1 0 0 4

Pakistan Cup 2016:

The one-day championship is expected to boost domestic cricket, where five teams -each team representing one province  and Islamabad- are playing one day games in Faisalabad.

The PCB officials said that Sarfraz Ahmed, Shoaib Malik, Younis Khan, Azhar Ali and Misbah-ul-Haq is leading Sindh, Punjab, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Balochistan and Islamabad respectively.


Meanwhile Touseef Ahmed, Ejaz Ahmed, Muhtashim Rasheed, Kabeer Khan and Mansoor Rana are performing as coaches to the teams of Sindh, Balochistan, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Punjab and Islamabad respectively.

Iqbal Stadium, Faisalabad

Each captain has selected a squad of 15 players from a pool of 150 players through adraft draw held in Lahore on April 12 (Tuesday). Participating cricketers and coacheswill receive 200% match fees for the tournament.

The final match of the one-day tournament will be played on May 1.


Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced tickets ranging from Rs100 to Rs200 forthose who want to see live matches at Iqbal Stadium, Faisalabad.

Full Schedule, Match Time* and Venue:

Schedule(click here to enlarge the picture)

*All matches will start at 3:00pm Pakistan Standard Time.