Technology

While surfing internet have you even been victim of installing some unnecessary software or revealing your private information, such as password or phone number, because you visited some website and it showed you a box saying “your media player requires an update”?

If your answer is yes, your problem is ending very soon. Because world’s largest technology giant, Google, has just updated its Safe Browsing feature in Chrome browser which aims to protect users from deceptive embedded content.

According to Google security team, the users will now be warned if they visit some website which carries social engineering advertisements/embeds. Any website carrying displays which “pretend to act, or look and feel, like a trusted entity and trick you into doing something you’d only do for a trusted entity” will show a red screen warning message saying “deceptive site ahead”.

However user will still be able to visit the if the manually instruct the browser to go ahead.

Some examples of social engineering advertisements: