Pakistan thrash Sri Lanka with 6-wicket win

09:01 PM | 4 Mar, 2016
Pakistan thrash Sri Lanka with 6-wicket win
MIRPUR (Staff Report) - Pakistan beat Sri Lanka by six wickets in in the 10th and last group match of Asia Cup 2016 T20 here on today (Friday) at Sher-e-Bangla Cricket Stadium in Mirpur.

Earlier, Pakistan skipper Shahid Khan Afridi won the toss and chose to field first.

Khurram Manzoor, Sami and Anwar Ali have been dropped, whereas Mohammad Nawaz, Wahab Riaz and Iftikhar Ahmed have been included in squad for Friday's match.

Today's match has no bearing on the tournament, as India and Bangladesh have already booked their place in the final of the Asia Cup T20 competition. The duo will treat it as a warm up match ahead of the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup to be held in India later this month.

Pakistan skipper Shahid Afridi will play today. Earlier, team management had asked Afridi to skip the match but he refused to take rest.


Click here to watch this match live

Pakistan Squad:

Shahid Afridi (c) Mohammad Hafeez, Shoaib Malik , Umar Akmal, Sarfaraz Ahmed (Vice-Captain/WK) Babar Azam, Iftikhar Ahmed, Imad Wasim, Anwar Ali,Mohammad Irfan, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Nawaz, Khurram Manzoor, Rumman Rais.

Sri Lanka Squad:

Lasith Malinga (c), Angelo Mathews, Dushmantha Chameera, Dinesh Chandimal, Niroshan Dickwella, Tillakaratne Dilshan, Rangana Herath, Shehan Jayasuriya, Chamara Kapugedera, , Thisara Perera, Sachithra Senanayake, Dasun Shanaka, Milinda Siriwardana, Jeffrey Vandersay.