Imran Khan to contest election from 5 constituencies

08:57 PM | 7 Jun, 2018
Imran Khan to contest election from 5 constituencies
LAHORE - After holding an in-depth discussion with party’s leaders, Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) chairman Imran Khan has decided to contest general elections 2018 from as many as five constituencies.

Sources privy to the development said that Imran Khan would contest elections NA-26 Bannu, NA-61 Rawalpindi, NA-95 Mianwali, NA-131 Lahore and NA-243 Karachi.

In the 2013 elections, Khan had contested from NA-1 (Peshawar - II), NA- 56 (Rawalpindi – VII), NA-71 (Mianwali - I), NA-126 (Lahore - IX).

In the run-up to the 2018 polls, Karachi appears to have emerged as a flashpoint for major political players, with PPP heavyweights Bilawal Bhutto, Aseefa Bhutto and Asif Zardari contesting from there, as well as prominent human rights activist and lawyer Jibran Nasir, who will contest as an independent candidate.