Qatar offers visa-free entry to nationals of 80 countries

10:45 PM | 9 Aug, 2017
Qatar offers visa-free entry to nationals of 80 countries
DOHA - Qatar will allow visa-free entry for citizens of 80 countries with immediate effect, Qatari officials announced on Wednesday.

These countries include US, UK, Japan, Argentina, India, Malaysia and New Zealand.

Citizens of those countries wishing to visit Qatar will not need to apply or pay for a visa; instead, a multi-entry waiver will be issued free-of-charge at the port of entry, upon presentation of a valid passport with a minimum validity of six months and a confirmed onward or return ticket.

Depending on the nationality of the visitor, the waiver will either be valid for 180 days, and allow the visitor to spend a total of 90 days in Qatar (multiple-entry); or it will be valid for 30 days and entitle the visitor to spend up to 30 days in Qatar (multiple-entry) with the possibility of applying for an extension of the waiver for an additional 30 days.

Hassan Al Ibrahim, acting chairman of Qatar Tourism Authority, said: "With 80 nationalities eligible for a free visa waiver upon arrival, Qatar is now the most open country in the region and we are delighted to invite visitors to discover our renowned hospitality, cultural heritage and natural treasures."

In November 2016, Qatar introduced a free transit visa, which allows passengers of all nationalities transiting in Qatar for a minimum of five hours to stay in Qatar for up to 96 hours (four days). In May 2017, QTA and Qatar Airways launched +Qatar , a package which includes a free night's stay in a five- or four-star hotel in Doha, alongside a complimentary transit visa.