Pakistan beat India to lift first-ever Kabaddi World Cup

Web Desk 09:07 AM | 16 Feb, 2020
Pakistan beat India to lift first-ever Kabaddi World Cup

LAHORE – Pakistan Kabaddi team created history when they dethroned defending champions India by 43-41 in the high-voltage tension-filled final of Kabaddi World Cup 2020 and became world kabaddi champions for the first time at

Punjab Stadium here on Sunday before a packed charged holiday crowd.

The third place went to Iranian team which toppled Australia by a margin of 54-33.

Both Pakistan and their arch-rivals India demonstrated best kabaddi throughout the tense final match. India, with the score of 24-18, took a lead of six points in the first half.

However, Pakistan regrouped and bounced back in the second half and gradually regained their confidence and ultimately won the historic final against their strong opponents by 43-41.

Punjab Governor Ch Muhammad Sarwar graced the grand closing ceremony as chief guest.

He awarded gold medals, winning trophy and Rs 10 million to triumphant Pakistan team while India received silver medals and Rs 7.5 million.

Punjab Minister for Sports, Youth Affairs and Tourism Rai Taimoor Khan Bhatti, Punjab Minister for Agriculture Malik Nauman Langrial, Punjab Minister for Law and Parliamentary Affairs Raja Basharat, PKF President Shafay Hussain, Secretary Sports Punjab Ehsan Bhutta and Director General Sports Punjab Adnan Arshad Aulakh were also present on this occasion.

All the players of Pakistan particularly captain M Irfan, Waqas Butt Shafiq were in best of their performance in a battle of nerves.

Before the start of final, Pakistan’s legend singer Ibrab-ul-Haq mesmerized the public gathered in capacity in the stadium to witness the most exciting and stirring battle of attrition.

Security was so much maintained that a large number of people were not allowed in the stadium despite having tickets.

Pakistan captain Irfan Mana won the toss and decided to raid. In the very first attempt, Pakistan applied pressure on their blue attired rivals to go up in points through Mohammad Shafiq Chishti.

But Vinay Khatri leveled the score. In the fluctuating encounter as one teams took the lead the other came with an equalizer.

At 3-all Pakistan main raiders Shafiq and Waqas Butt conceded three back to back points to be at the back foot at 3-6 and then 4-7. The difference of three points which was increased to six between them remained intact with India showing better strength and technique. And by the close of first half, Pakistan was down with six points at 18-24.

In the second session, Pakistan was in the receiving end as India maintained its lead. At the time when the points were at 24-28 with home team being down, there were some technical hiccups with India claiming Pakistan raider failed to cross the line in 30 seconds but were awarded point and after several reviews the committee declined India’s appeal.

Pakistan later had an incredible fight back from there on to come on equal terms at 32-32 and then went ahead two points. During the entire time the fans remained on their toes and expressed joy on Pakistan’s fight back at 36-34.

Here too the game was again stopped with India calming point on a double touch but that too was rejected by referees. Just minutes before the finish, Pakistan raider claimed a double touch point which India opposed but the later was awarded a point. Their nerve-wrecking attempts continued till the final whistle and ultimately the two teams separated with Pakistan’s winning 43-41.

Earlier, Iran proved too strong for Australia in the third and fourth position match of the mega event here.

Iran maintained its grip on the game from the start till the final whistle. Though in between Australia penetrated to get some points but Iran kept things in total control. Iran led the match 30-16 in the first half and won the match 54-33 by the end of the game.

Ramandeep played a vital role in Iran’s win and was also declared the best raider while in the defence Ali Raza Safari being the best stopper did not allow rivals to get a free hand.

As many as nine teams including Pakistan, India, Germany, Azerbaijan, Iran, Canada, Sierra Leone, England and Australia participated in the tournament organized jointly by the Punjab government, Sports Board Punjab and the Pakistan Kabaddi Federation (PKF). The matches were played in three venues– Punjab Stadium Lahore, Iqbal Cricket Stadium Faisalabad and Zahoor Elahi Stadium Gujrat.

Web Desk
Web Desk

Daily Pakistan Global Web Desk


KARACHI - Following are the foreign currency exchange rates for US Dollar, Saudi Riyal, UK Pound Sterling, U.A.E. Dirham, European Euro, and other foreign currencies in Pakistan open market on February 4, 2023 (Saturday).

Source: Forex Association of Pakistan. (last update 09:00 AM)

Currency Symbol Buying Selling
US Dollar ‎USD 279.9 283.2
Euro EUR 300.98 301.58
UK Pound Sterling GBP 337.01 337.71
U.A.E Dirham AED 75.14 75.44
Saudi Riyal SAR 73.55 73.85
Australian Dollar AUD 189 192
Bahrain Dinar BHD 712.72 720.69
Canadian Dollar CAD 200 202.2
China Yuan CNY 39.67 39.73
Danish Krone DKK 39.33 39.73
Hong Kong Dollar HKD 34.19 34.54
Indian Rupee INR 3.28 3.39
Japanese Yen JPY 2.5 2.54
Kuwaiti Dinar KWD 878 887
Malaysian Ringgit MYR 62.83 63.43
New Zealand Dollar NZD 173.25 175.25
Norwegians Krone NOK 26.79 27.09
Omani Riyal OMR 696.08 704.08
Qatari Riyal ‎QAR 73.62 74.32
Singapore Dollar SGD 204 206
Swedish Korona SEK 25.61 25.91
Swiss Franc CHF 291.69 294.19
Thai Bhat THB 8.15 8.30

KARACHI – The price of a single tola of 24-karat gold in Pakistan is Rs 205,200 on Saturday. The price of 10 grams of 24k gold was recorded at Rs175,930.

Likewise, 10 grams of 22k gold were being traded for Rs167,318 while a single tola of 22-karat gold was being sold at Rs 195,157.

Note: The gold rate in Pakistan is fluctuating according to the international market so the price is never been fixed. The below rates are provided by local gold markets and Sarafa Markets of different cities.

City Gold Silver
Lahore PKR 205,200 PKR 2,430
Karachi PKR 205,200 PKR 2,430
Islamabad PKR 205,200 PKR 2,430
Peshawar PKR 205,200 PKR 2,430
Quetta PKR 205,200 PKR 2,430
Sialkot PKR 205,200 PKR 2,430
Attock PKR 205,200 PKR 2,430
Gujranwala PKR 205,200 PKR 2,430
Jehlum PKR 205,200 PKR 2,430
Multan PKR 205,200 PKR 2,430
Bahawalpur PKR 205,200 PKR 2,430
Gujrat PKR 205,200 PKR 2,430
Nawabshah PKR 205,200 PKR 2,430
Chakwal PKR 205,200 PKR 2,430
Hyderabad PKR 205,200 PKR 2,430
Nowshehra PKR 205,200 PKR 2,430
Sargodha PKR 205,200 PKR 2,430
Faisalabad PKR 205,200 PKR 2,430
Mirpur PKR 205,200 PKR 2,430


Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Sign up for Newsletter