Lay’s & Other Halal Snacks in Pakistan

05:18 PM | 20 Nov, 2020
Lay’s & Other Halal Snacks in Pakistan

Local food brands in Pakistan are required to source their ingredients from halal sources only. The same goes for international brands, but the issue becomes more complicated here because if they use non-halal ingredients in Muslim countries, they are required to change their ingredient composition in order to comply with the laws of muslim countries like Pakistan. Despite such regulations in place, concerned organisations and individuals are always on the lookout for non-halal products. Here is a list of brands that were certified as halal for consumption:

Lindt Dark Chocolate

Lindt’s entire range of chocolates are considered to be suitable for vegetarians in the UK. This means that they are also halal because no ingredient is sourced from animals.

When it comes to Pakistan, Lindt is not a local product. It is imported from the Middle East where strict regulations are in place to ensure that companies comply with halal food certifications. Lindt officially stated that all of its ‘dark’ chocolates in Pakistan are halal, as the label on its box confirms. However, it did not comment on the rest of its range of chocolates. If Lindt is distributed by IBL in Pakistan, it means that it is halal for consumption.

Lays Potato Chips 

Lays Potato Chips, along with other competitors in the industry, have been under strict observance for their use of the artificial flavour enhancer called E-631. This ingredient can either be sourced from plants, meat or fish. While many consumers assumed that Lays potato chips are non-halal, Pakistan certified National Halal Authority (SANHA) confirmed that Lays sources its E-631 from plants.

Rafhan Jelly

The issue with all jelly products is that gelatin is an essential ingredient needed to produce it. Gelatin can either be sourced from pig meat or other animals such as chickens. The ingredient is made of the protein extracted from the bones of these animals. Thus, it depends on the source of the gelatin to determine whether the product is halal or not.

Luckily, Rafhan has faced no scandal in this matter so far. This is because it comes with the halal logo and is certified by food authorities. Even the products that it imports to the UK and US are also halal.  

Web Desk
Web Desk

Daily Pakistan Global Web Desk


Today's currency exchange rates in Pakistan - Dollar, Euro, Pound, Riyal rates on Sept 25, 2023

KARACHI - Following are the foreign currency exchange rates for US Dollar, Saudi Riyal, UK Pound Sterling, U.A.E. Dirham, European Euro, and other foreign currencies in Pakistan open market on September 25, 2023 (Monday).

Source: Forex Association of Pakistan. (last update 09:00 AM)

Currency Symbol Buying Selling
US Dollar ‎USD 292 295.15
Euro EUR 317 317
UK Pound Sterling GBP 372.5 376
U.A.E Dirham AED 81.5 82.3
Saudi Riyal SAR 78.55 79.3
Australian Dollar AUD 198 200
Bahrain Dinar BHD 781.13 789.13
Canadian Dollar CAD 220 222.2
China Yuan CNY 40.22 40.62
Danish Krone DKK 42.35 42.75
Hong Kong Dollar HKD 317 320
Indian Rupee INR 37.93 38.28
Japanese Yen JPY 1.92 1.99
Kuwaiti Dinar KWD 951.03 960.03
Malaysian Ringgit MYR 62.62 63.22
New Zealand Dollar NZD 174.23 176.23
Norwegians Krone NOK 27.87 28.17
Omani Riyal OMR 762.72 770.72
Qatari Riyal ‎QAR 80.69 81.39
Singapore Dollar SGD 217 219
Swedish Korona SEK 26.62 26.92
Swiss Franc CHF 325.12 327.62
Thai Bhat THB 8.31 8.46

Gold Rate in Pakistan Today – September 25, 2023

Today Gold Rate in Pakistan

KARACHI – The price of a single tola of 24-karat gold in Pakistan is Rs 214,700 on Monday. The price of 10 grams of 24k gold was recorded at Rs184,070.

Likewise, 10 grams of 22k gold were being traded for Rs168,730 while a single tola of 22-karat gold was being sold at Rs196,807.

Note: The gold rate in Pakistan is fluctuating according to the international market so the price is never been fixed. The below rates are provided by local gold markets and Sarafa Markets of different cities.

Today Gold Price in Pakistan - 25 September 2023

City Gold Silver
Lahore PKR 214,700 PKR 2,590
Karachi PKR 214,700 PKR 2,590
Islamabad PKR 214,700 PKR 2,590
Peshawar PKR 214,700 PKR 2,590
Quetta PKR 214,700 PKR 2,590
Sialkot PKR 214,700 PKR 2,590
Attock PKR 214,700 PKR 2,590
Gujranwala PKR 214,700 PKR 2,590
Jehlum PKR 214,700 PKR 2,590
Multan PKR 214,700 PKR 2,590
Bahawalpur PKR 214,700 PKR 2,590
Gujrat PKR 214,700 PKR 2,590
Nawabshah PKR 214,700 PKR 2,590
Chakwal PKR 214,700 PKR 2,590
Hyderabad PKR 214,700 PKR 2,590
Nowshehra PKR 214,700 PKR 2,590
Sargodha PKR 214,700 PKR 2,590
Faisalabad PKR 214,700 PKR 2,590
Mirpur PKR 214,700 PKR 2,590


Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on Twitter

Sign up for Newsletter