ECP finalizes arrangements for by-polls on NA-247, PS-111

11:37 AM | 20 Oct, 2018
ECP finalizes arrangements for by-polls on NA-247, PS-111

KARACHI - By-elections for vacant National Assembly seat NA-247, Sindh Assembly seat PS-111 and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly seat PK-71 will be held on Sunday.

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has finalised all arrangements to hold the elections in a peaceful manner; the required material for the elections is also being transported to the polling stations under the supervision of Pakistan Army troops.

According to the electoral body, there are 546,451 registered voters in NA-247 while the number is 178,965 in PS-111.

As many as twelve candidates are in the run for the NA-247 seat while 11 are vying for the Sindh Assembly seat.

NA-247 was vacated by Dr Arif Alvi after he assumed presidency while PS-111 was vacated by Imran Ismail who is now Sindh Governor.

Notable candidates in the run for NA-247 include PTI’s Aftab Hussain Siddiqui, PSP’s Arshad Vohra, MQM-P’s Sadiq Iftikhar and PPP’s Qaiser Khan Nizamani.

For PS-111, PTI’s Shehzad Qureshi, MQM-P’s Jehanzeb Mughal, PML-N’s Mohammad Zahid Hussain and right activist Muhammad Jibran Nasir are in the run. According to ECP, 80 presiding officers and 320 assistant presiding officers will perform duties on election day

PK-71 fell vacant after Shah Farman was appointed as Governor Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

Five candidates are in the run for the provincial assembly seat including Zulfiqar Khan of PTI, Salahuddin of Awami National Party and three independents; eighty-six presiding officers and 307 assistant presiding officers will perform duties at the 86 polling stations set up in the constituency.