MUZAFFARABAD – Pakistan Muslim League Nawaz’s PML-N Raja Farooq Haider Khan has become the new Prime Minister of Azad Jammu and Kashmir.

Raja Farooq Haider secured 38 votes from 41 members of the Legislative Assembly on Sunday, while the Muslim Conference and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaaf’s (PTI’s) joint candidate, Dewan Ghulam Mohiuddin, and the Pakistan Peoples Party’s Choudary Yaseen secured 5 votes each.

The Legislative Assembly met with the newly elected speaker Shah Ghulam Qadir in the chair. The speaker announced the procedure to elect the leader of the house through secret balloting.

The newly elected Prime Minister Raja Farooq Haider Khan will take the oath of office today at 4 pm. President AJK Sardar Yaqoob Khan will administrate the oath to him.