ISLAMABAD (Web Desk) – The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has issued a revised schedule for by-elections in two National Assembly constituencies from Punjab and three provincial assembly constituencies, of which two are in Sindh and one is in Punjab.

By-polls in the NA-63 constituency of Jhelum will now be held on August 31. The seat had fallen vacant due to the death of PML-N MNA Malik Iqbal Mehdi Khan.

Polling for by-elections of NA-162 (Sahiwal) would be held on September 19 as Rai Hassan Nawaz, a PTI candidate who won the seat in the 2013 elections, was disqualified by the election tribunal for concealing details of his assets.

By-elections for the Sindh Assembly constituency, PS-127 (Malir Karachi) will be held on September 8, for PP-232 (Vehari) on August 31 and in PS-14 (Jacobabad) on August 20.

Moreover, Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has started the revision of electoral lists after which 50 hundred thousand fresh voters will be registered.

ECP sources revealed that during the process of revision, every youngster or fresh NIC holder would be added to electoral lists while expired citizens and those holding fake NICs would be excluded.