KARACHI – Despite suspending membership by the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP), around 17 legislators taking active part in lawmaking and proceedings of the Sindh Assembly .

The ECP had suspended the membership of the legislators, including PML-F leader Nusrat Sahar Abbasi, PPP’s Mukesh Kumar Chawla, Javed Nagori, Ghazala Sial and others for failing to submit their statements of assets and liabilities with the ECP.

They are also being given allowances and salaries, while no one is taking action against them.

According to the law, all the lawmakers are required to submit statements of assets and liabilities of their own, their spouses and dependants with the ECP before September 30 each year. The ECP is supposed to issue a notification by October 15 to suspend the membership of those legislators who fail to do so by the last date (September 30).